Never-Before-Heard JUDAS PRIEST Demo Extract To Be Included On AL ATKINS's 'Reloaded' Album

October 18, 2016

Original JUDAS PRIEST vocalist Al Atkins will release his new solo album, "Reloaded", on Gonzo Multimedia. The album is a collection tracks from the last four decades that Al has either written or performed from his days in JUDAS PRIEST to his last band HOLY RAGE. It features special guest appearances by Ian Hill of JUDAS PRIEST (who performed on the original recordings of some of these classics, like "Victim Of Changes" from the "Sad Wings Of Destiny" album),John McCoy (ex-GILLAN),Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR) dueting with Al on "Victim Of Changes", a solo from Roy "Z" Ramirez of HALFORD and BRUCE DICKINSON, Japanese guitarist Tsuyoshi Ikedo from UNVEIL RAZE, Australia's Stu "Hammer" Marshall of DEATH DEALER, Chris Johnson from HOLY RAGE, Rob Allen on drums and longtime friend and collaborator, guitarist and producer of many of Al's albums, Paul May. These tracks have appeared in various forms on many albums over the past forty years. "Reloaded" also features a bonus track that is an excerpt of a guitar solo from the very JUDAS PRIEST demo featuring Hill on bass and K.K. Downing on guitar a never-heard treat for all JUDAS PRIEST fanatics.

"Reloaded" was once again recorded at Rock Solid Studios in the U.K.

"Reloaded" track listing:

01. Winter
02. Mind Conception
03. A Void To Avoid
04. Coming Thick & Fast
05. Heavy Thoughts
06. Never Satisfied
07. Money Talks
08. Cradle To The Grave
09. Love At War
10. Victim Of Changes
11. Mind Conception (early JUDAS PRIEST demo extract) (bonus track)

"Reloaded" is available to pre-order only on PledgeMusic together with other exclusive merchandise and experiences.

Regarding how the idea for the album came about, Atkins told "After Paul May and myself [were] asked to record a 'best-of' album by our record company, we recorded the ATKINS MAY PROJECT 'Anthology'. It then got me thinking about recording my own solo 'best-of] album, but set about re-recording all of my fave songs from the last four decades and using guest players. We still have three tracks still to record before it is all finished, but it is sounding absolutely killer."

He added: "[I am] really looking forward to this album and I hope everyone else who buys it will enjoy it too."

Atkins is the co-writer of several PRIEST songs which are included on the band's first two albums, "Rocka Rolla" and "Sad Wings of Destiny", both of which eventually went gold. Atkins co-penned the heavy metal classic "Victim of Changes", which was a combination of Rob Halford's song "Red Light Lady" and Atkins' own "Whiskey Woman". He also co-wrote "Winter", "Never Satisfied", "Dreamer Deceiver" and "Caviar and Meths".

In 1989 Atkins released his debut solo album, "Judgement Day", to great acclaim. But it was "Heavy Thoughts" and "Victim of Changes" (the latter being his collaborative album with ex-JUDAS PRIEST drummer Dave Holland) that brought him strong sales and critical acclaim around the world.

JUDAS PRIEST bassist Ian Hill penned the foreword to Al Atkins's autobiography, titled "Dawn of the Metal Gods: My Life in Judas Priest and Heavy Metal". The book, which was written with Neil Daniels — a freelance rock writer and heavy metal fan who befriended Atkins during the writing of Neil's book "The Story Of Judas Priest: Defenders Of The Faith" (Omnibus Press) — was released in 2009 via Iron Pages.


Find more on Judas priest
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).