NILE To Enter Studio In Early March, July Release Expected

February 13, 2002

Acclaimed death metallers NILE will enter Soundlab Studios in Columbia, South Carolina on March 4th to record their third full-length CD, tentatively titled In Their Darkened Shrines. Eight tracks have been written so far for the album, which is set to feature nearly an hour's worth of music. Among the song titles set to appear on the CD are the following:

01. The Blessed Dead
02. Execration Text
03. Kheftiu Asar Butchiu
04. In Their Darkened Shrines
05. Sarcophagus
06. Churning the Maelstrom
07. I Whisper In the Ear of the UnBlessed Dead
08. Unas Slayer of the Gods

According to guitarist Carl Sanders, "the new material is NILE's strongest yet! All the elements of the 'NILE sound' are intact yet the songs have reached a new level of intensity. We have a lot of new sounds and a more realized level of composition and structure."

In Their Darkened Shrines marks the recording debut of drummer Tony Laureno and DARKMOON bassist/vocalist Jon Vesano.

"We're very excited to record with our new line-up", added Sanders. "Our collective goal is to create a record that will eclipse many people's preconception of what is possible within the death metal idiom."

NILE's In Their Darkened Shrines is tentatively set for a July release through Relapse Records.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).