NINE INCH NAILS: 'The Downward Spiral' Deluxe Edition Details Revealed

October 4, 2004

NINE INCH NAILS' two-disc deluxe edition of 1994's "The Downward Spiral" will be released on November 23. The set will feature a redesigned deluxe package which includes a hybrid CD/SACD with the original album in stereo, high-resolution stereo, and high resolution 5.1 digital surround sound. This will play on regular CD players as well as SACF players. Also included is a bonus disc featuring a new compilation of remixes, b-sides, demos, and non-album tracks, including previously unreleased material. The complete track listing is as follows:

Disc One (Hybrid CD/SACD) — The original album digitally remixed and remastered in SACD high-resolution stereo and 5.1 surround sound:

01. Mr. Self Destruct
02. Piggy
03. Heresy
04. March of the Pigs
05. Closer
06. Ruiner
07. The Becoming
08. I Do Not Want This
09. Big Man With A Gun
10. A Warm Place
11. Eraser
12. Reptile
13. The Downward Spiral
14. Hurt

Disc Two (CD) — Remixes, b-sides, demos, and non-album tracks:

01. Burn
02. Closer (Precursor)
03. Piggy (Nothing Can Stop Me Now)
04. A Violent Fluid
05. Dead Souls
06. Hurt (quiet)
07. Closer to God
08. All the Pigs, All Lined Up
09. Memorabilia
10. The Downward Spiral (The Bottom)
11. Ruiner (demo)
12. Liar (Reptile demo)
13. Heresy (demo)

Also in stores November 23 will be a DualDisc DVD-Audio version of "The Downward Spiral". This includes the original album digitally remixed and remastered in stereo and 5.1 surround sound. The DVD side includes an image gallery, discography, and three bonus videos: "Closer" (in suuround),"March of the Pigs" and "Hurt".

The Dualdisc will be playable in DVD-audio players, standard DVD players, and regular CD players.

NINE INCH NAILS' "Closure" DVD is tied up in "legal problems" at the moment and looks unlikely to see release until early 2005, according to a posting on the group's web site.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email