NOFX Announces 'Single Album', Drops 'Linewleum' Video Featuring AVENGED SEVENFOLD

January 12, 2021

Longstanding California punk band NOFX will release its 14th full-length album, titled "Single Album", on Friday, February 26 via Fat Mike's label Fat Wreck Chords.

Boasting 12 new tracks and recorded at Motor Studios in San Francisco with Bill Stevenson and Jason Livermore (RISE AGAINST, ALKALINE TRIO, TEENAGE BOTTLEROCKET),the follow-up to 2016's "First Ditch Effort" is NOFX's most personal effort to date.

Originally intended to be a double record, "Single Album" was scaled down after the coronavirus pandemic changed NOFX's plans.

The official music video for the disc's first single, "Linewleum", featuring AVENGED SEVENFOLD, can be seen below.

"I have no idea why 'Linoleum' [released in 1994] is the NOFX song that is covered by so many bands while other NOFX songs get hardly any attention," Fat Mike said in a statement. "'Linoleum' wasn't a single, it had no video, it got no radio play, and most importantly, it didn't even have a chorus!!! All popular songs have choruses! WTF!

"So, one night I stayed up till 4:00 a.m. checking out all the different versions on YouTube. Watching hundreds of bands from over 28 countries (mostly Indonesia) doing 'Linoleum' was a humbling experience for me. So I decided to write a song that was a shout-out to all those people that learned those four chords and remembered the non-rhyming lyrics."

Mike went on to describe "Linewleum" as "a song about not playing a song that's not a hit song with a video about other bands covering the song!", adding: "This is why I love punk rock writing punk songs. Rules out the door!"

Mike said that he "asked the biggest of all the bands" — AVENGED SEVENFOLD — "to play some leads on the song. Then [AVENGED singer] M. Shadows suggested we do a video together. Then I figured I should put all of the bands in the video. Well, I couldn't fit all the bands, but I picked a bunch of cool ones."

"Single Album" track listing:

01. The Big Drag
02. I Love You More Than I Hate Me
03. Fuck Euphemism
04. Fish In A Gun Barrel
05. Birmingham
06. Linewleum
07. My Bro Cancervive Cancer
08. Grieve Soto
09. Doors And Fours
10. Your Last Resort

Find more on Nofx
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).