NONPOINT: 'Breaking Skin' Video Released

September 29, 2014

"Breaking Skin", the new video from NONPOINT, can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's eighth studio album, "The Return", which will be released on September 30 via Razor & Tie (one day earlier internationally via Metal Blade Records). The clip was directed by Justin Reich, who has previously worked with HATEBREED, A SKYLIT DRIVE and BLACK LABEL SOCIETY.

Asked what will be his strongest memory of the recording of the album, NONPOINT singer Elias Soriano told Heavy Metal: "There was a bit of frustration towards the end, and was the beginnings of what eventually became one of the reasons for our recent lineup change.

"I say it all the time, this life is not for everyone or every couple. Doing this for a living comes with sacrifice. You're going to miss some birthdays, first days of school, anniversaries, Christmas Eves and New Year's kisses. But in return you're going to see 50 states and more countries than you can count on your hands and feet, you'll have the opportunity to reach up into the ether and pull down something that moves minds, hearts and sometimes even saves lives; you'll be home for 4 to 6 months 24/7 with your family while you write a record, you'll be your own boss."

He added: "Bottom line, you decide if the pros outweigh the cons and make a decision to either be in or out. Every gig, every interview, every radio visit counts. And over the last 15 years Robb [Rivera, drums] and I have learned that if we can't trust you'll be there tomorrow, then this isn't the band for you."

Elias explains the meaning behind "Breaking Skin": "It's about addiction, whether it be food, drugs, sex, lying, or anything, that tends to turn into an itch. You can't stop scratching it so you break skin. Then, you're bleeding. You need to get help at that point and deal with it."

Robb adds: "'Breaking Skin' is a different kind of song for us. There's a lot of melody, but it's still so heavy. That heaviness has always been in the back of our minds. It's a natural direction for us. Most bands soften their sound as they go on. We get more aggressive and heavy. That's what NONPOINT does best."

"The Return" was recorded in February at Groovemaster Studios with Grammy Award-nominated producer Johnny K (DISTURBED, STAIND, MEGADETH) and engineer Daniel Salcido. It marked their second collaboration together.

"The Return" track listing:

01. Pins And Needles
02. Breaking Skin
03. Razors
04. Misery
05. The Return
06. Take Apart This World
07. Forcing Hands
08. Goodbye Letters
09. Never Ending Hole
10. Widowmaker
11. Never Cared Before
12. F__K'D
13. Know Myself


Find more on Nonpoint
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email