NORTHLANE Announces Acoustic EP '2D'

May 10, 2021

Fresh from the release of its remix EP "5G", NORTHLANE is backing it up with a new EP release called "2D". The five-track release, due out May 21 via UNFD, features acoustic versions of fan favorites from the band's "Alien" era, including "Rift", which fans can check out below.

NORTHLANE vocalist Marcus Bridge explains how "2D" adds another dimension to these tracks: "Recording an acoustic EP is something that we've wanted to do for quite some time and felt right with the personal nature of the songs from 'Alien'. I wanted to strip these songs back to the bare minimum to juxtapose the soundscapes of the album, a 2D version of sorts. A song like 'Rift' has a completely different energy in this context and took on new meaning with the recording in the depths of lockdown, now almost feeling like a cry of frustration and despair."

In addition, "2D" will feature a heartbreaking stripped-back version of "Sleepless", which originally debuted in the band's 2020 documentary "Negative Energy".

"2D" track listing:

01. Bloodline (acoustic)
02. Rift (acoustic)
03. 4D (acoustic)
04. Enemy Of The Night (acoustic)
05. Sleepless (acoustic)

NORTHLANE will celebrate the release of both "2D" and "5G" with a limited run of exclusive 12-inch colored LP offerings.

Meanwhile, NORTHLANE is set to headline the Full Tilt festival this summer in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney alongside IN HEARTS WAKE, HANDS LIKE HOUSES, THY ART IS MURDER, LUCA BRASI and more.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).