OBSCURA To Release 'Diluvium' Album In July

May 8, 2018

Germany's progressive death metal masters OBSCURA complete their long-running, four-album conceptual circle with the release of "Diluvium" (defined as a great oceanic flood),their most evocative, diverse and vibrant release to date. The effort is due out July 13 on CD, LP and digital via Relapse Records.

The official video for the "Diluvium" title track can be seen below. The clip was directed by Mirko Witzki (KREATOR, BLIND GUARDIAN, CALIBAN) and further explores the album's celestial themes.

The band commented: "With the title track of our new album, we present you one of the most fast forward and brutal compositions 'Diluvium' has to offer.

"The music video created by German cinematographer Mirko Witzki shows the first part of a connected story relating to the band's long-running four-album cycle."

Recorded with longtime producer V. Santura (TRIPTYKON, PESTILENCE) at Woodshed Studios in Landshut, Germany, "Diluvium" is a stunning achievement for the illustrious quartet and a landmark release for progressive metal as a whole. Complete with all the band's signature elements plus groundbreaking polyrhythms, dramatic songwriting, and jaw-dropping virtuosity, "Diluvium" will go down in the annals of metal history as one of the most astonishing performances the genre has to offer.

"Diluvium" track listing:

01. Clandestine Stars
02. Emergent Evolution
03. Diluvium
04. Mortification of the Vulgar Sun
05. Ethereal Skies
06. Convergence
07. Ekpyrosis
08. The Seventh Aeon
09. The Conjuration
10. An Epilogue to Infinity
11. A Last Farewell (Bonus Track)

Album art credit: Orion Landau

OBSCURA will perform at select European festivals this summer, including Vienna Metal Meeting, Amsterdam Metal Meeting and Summer Breeze.

Photo credit: Christian Martin Weiss

Find more on Obscura
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email