ODERUS URUNGUS's Final Recorded Performance To Be Made Available On 10th-Anniversary Edition Of GWAR's 'Battle Maximus'

June 8, 2023

Ten years have passed since the release of GWAR's masterwork known as "Battle Maximus". The record is a tribute to fallen Scumdog Warrior Flattus Maximus (a.k.a. Corey Smoot) and was the last album recorded with vocalist Oderus Urungus (a.k.a. Dave Brockie) before he departed the planet Earth in 2014.

In celebration of this momentous occasion (and to line their pockets with filthy lucre),GWAR are pleased to announce the release of this tenth-anniversary edition of "Battle Maximus". In addition to being completely remixed and remastered, this edition features the final recorded vocal performance of Oderus Urungus on the previously unreleased and never-before-heard song "Tammy, Queen Of Dirt".

Along with the announcement, the band has released the remastered/remixed version of "Falling". Listen to it below.

Guitarist BälSäc, The Jaws 'O Death says: "10 years after its initial release, the wounds are just as fresh. The words that Oderus wrote as a tribute to his fallen Scumdog brother, Flattus Maximus, gain new meaning when heard as the final lyrics he would ever sing. The songs echo in stereo through the twin holes that were left in our hearts by the absence of Oderus and Flattus. This new remix of 'Battle Maximus' breathes new life into this album that demands to be considered as one of GWAR's greatest."

The Berserker Blothar adds: "'Battle Maximus' is an important GWAR album. Recorded as a farewell to guitarist Flattus Maximus, this album was born out of straight pain. As the Scumdog warriors grieved the passing of their brother, they had no way of knowing they were also recording the last album with singer Oderus Urungus. 'Battle Maximus' then, is on the cusp of the greatest challenge of GWAR's career. This version has been remixed and remastered and it sounds straight up viscous. I hope you relish it as much as I…"

Available as a double LP, CD and in digital formats, "Battle Maximus" is set for release on September 1 via GWAR's own Pit Records. The double vinyl also features expanded packaging, redesigned art and an embossed cover. The standard LP is Crystal Blue with Dark Blue swirl vinyl, the Bandbox exclusive version is Stained Glass vinyl, Newbury Comics version is White with Blue swirl vinyl and Revolver Icons Series features multiple different colors all with NFTs to authenticate.

"Battle Maximus" track listing:

01. Intro
02. Madness At The Core Of Time
03. Bloodbath
04. Nothing Left Alive
05. They Swallowed The Sun
06. Torture
07. Raped At Birth
08. I, Bonesnapper
09. Mr. Perfect
10. Tammy, The Swine Queen*
11. Battle Maximus
12. Triumph Of The Pig Children
13. Falling
14. Fly Now
15. Carry On Wayward Son
16. Wheel Of Punishment

* Previously unreleased bonus track

Find more on Gwar
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).