Willowtip Records has announced the signing of Santa Cruz, CA-based technical death metal outfit ODIOUS MORTEM.

Consisting of Anthony Trapani (CARNIVOROUS) on vocals, Joel Horner on bass, Dan Eggers on guitar, and KC Howard (DECREPIT BIRTH) on drums, ODIOUS MORTEM will enter Castle Ultimate Studios in Oakland, CA this month with Zack Ohren to record their Willowtip debut, "Cryptic Implosion". Made up of 11 tracks, one of which will feature a guest guitar solo by Ron Jarzombek (SPASTIC INK, WATCHTOWER), "Cryptic Implosion" can be seen as a natural, mature progression from the band's previous release, 2005's "Devouring the Prophecy", available on Unique Leader Records.

The band commented: "We are honored to say that we are now part of Willowtip Records, a label that represents progressive metal of many styles."

"Cryptic Implosion" track listing:

01. Reflections of a Past Existence
02. Fragmented Oblivion
03. The Endless Regression of Mind
04. Conjoint Species
05. Vile Progeny
06. Dysmorphic Avulsion
07. Nux Vomica
08. Subcortical Desiccation
09. Gestation of Worms
10. Domain of the Eternal Paradox
11. Collapse of Recreation

Demo versions of "The Endless Regression of Mind" and "Domain of the Eternal Paradox" can be found at ODIOUS MORTEM's official MySpace page. The artwork for "Cryptic Implosion" was created by Pär Olofsson (SPAWN OF POSSESSION, PSYCROPTIC).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).