OMNIUM GATHERUM: 'New World Shadows' Album Teaser Available

February 2, 2011

A teaser for "New World Shadows", the fifth album from Finnish melodic death metallers OMNIUM GATHERUM, can be viewed below. The CD will be released via Lifeforce Records on the following dates:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland: February 4
Sweden, Finland, Hungary: February 9
Rest Of Europe: February 7
North America: March 1

"New World Shadows" was recorded at Astia Studio 2 in Lappeenranta and OmG Studio in Karhula, Finland with Teemu Aalto, and was mixed and mastered at Unisound Studio in Örebro, Sweden by Dan Swanö (EDGE OF SANITY, HAIL OF BULLETS, NOVEMBERS DOOM). Swanö also contributed clean vocals to two songs while Niilo Sevänen from INSOMNIUM added "a few guest growls."

Commented OMNIUM GATHERUM vocalist Jukka Pelkonen: "This is the album I've been wanting to do for years." Guitarist Markus Vanhala added, "Here it is, the OMNIUM GATHERUM musical evolution and career of 15 years in metal and this album surely is finally the musical diamond what we were starting to chase once we started this band. Finally every piece of the puzzle are here and the notes on the right places! This is northern death metal without limitations, really melodic and intelligent but still aggressive while quoting lines from prog to even AOR and no less than having also my teenage idol sir Dan Swanö himself singing some stuff here. Like we say it — this is adult-oriented death metal in its most epic, melodic and purest form!"

"New World Shadows" track listing:

01. Everfields (9:17)
02. Ego (4:07)
03. New World Shadows (6:00)
04. Soul Journeys (4:54)
05. Nova Flame (4:10)
06. An Infinite Mind (5:43)
07. Watcher Of The Skies (4:17)
08. The Distance (3:59)
09. Deep Cold (9:29)

"Soul Journeys", the new Jussi Rautaniemi-directed video from OMNIUM GATHERUM, can be viewed below.

OMNIUM GATHERUM recently parted ways with guitarist Harri Pikka after "13 years of solid service." He has since been replaced by session axeman Joonas Koto (MALPRACTICE, ex-TO/DIE/FOR, ex-HATEFRAME).

Released in October 2008 in the U.S. via Candlelight Records, OMNIUM GATHERUM's last album, "The Redshift", was recorded at Sound Supreme Studios in Hämeenlinna, Finland with Janne Saksa and SouthEastSounds studio in Karhula with Teemu Aalto.

"New World Shadows" album teaser:

"New World Shadows" full-track teaser:

"Soul Journeys" video:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).