Original THIN LIZZY Guitarist ERIC BELL To Release 'Exile' Album In February

January 25, 2016

Northern Irish rock musician and guitarist Eric Bell, best known as a founding member and the original guitarist of the rock group THIN LIZZY, will release his new studio album, "Exile", on February 26 via On The Edge/Cargo.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Deep In Your Heart
02. Don't Love Me No More
03. Gotta Say Bye Bye
04. Vote For Me
05. Exile
06. Little Boy Running
07. Rip It Up
08. Concrete Jungle
09. Thank God
10. Song For Gary

When you've co-founded one of the most successful bands in Irish history, written one of the best-loved guitar riffs of all time and had the British Prime Minister claim he listens to your songs when he "needs a lift" (which, let's face it, must be quite often),it would be easy to put your feet up, sit back and bask in the glory of a successful career in music.

Or you could just keep on working like Bell, who has just finished recording his first studio album in more than six years.

"Exile", the first collection of new material since 2009's "Lonely Nights In London", was recorded at Edge Recording Studios, a converted barn in Cheshire. Basic, homely and unpretentious, what the studio lacks in corporate frills, it more than makes up for in pedigree. Owned by renowned sound engineer John Delf, who works with some of the globe's biggest bands, including FIVE SECONDS OF SUMMER, PLAN B and THE SCRIPT, and run by Mark Winterburn, one of the U.K.'s top studio engineers, it offered the back-to-basics, artist-led approach that Eric needed to tempt him back into the studio.

Lyrically, the new album covers a lot of ground; some songs reflect the difficult times in Eric's life, others explore universal themes of love, fatherhood and loss. Some were penned many years ago, lying dormant as if waiting to be brought to life, some were written very recently. There's even a cover of a rock 'n' roll standard.

Although Eric didn't start out as a songwriter, working alongside Phil Lynott in THIN LIZZY, Van Morrison in THEM and Dave Clark in the NOEL REDDING BAND allowed him to see the songwriting process up close and gave him the confidence to find his own writing style.

Bell says: "This album reflects the music I like to play and listen to, so that's what I'd say, I'm trying to cover the whole spectrum of music."


Find more on Thin lizzy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).