ORPHANED LAND Receives Turkish Peace Award

March 13, 2012

While playing several shows in Turkey at the end of February, Israeli oriental metal ambassadors ORPHANED LAND received the Friendship And Peace Award from the Turkish government — despite the fact that the two countries have no diplomatic relations at the moment.

Commented ORPHANED LAND vocalist Kobi Farhi: "We always knew that our efforts for peace in the Middle East and between the three religions are highly appreciated but we were so surprised that we got contacted by the secretary of Turkey's Prime Minister's advisor Mr. Huseyin Tugcu. He contacted our manager in Turkey and we met him in Ankara on February 24th. He gave us an amazing peace award, with the flags of Turkey and Israel as well as the symbols of Judaism and Islam, both carried by a dove of peace. Mr. Tugcu explained that despite the political conflict between the countries his country appreciates ORPHANED LAND as a great friend to Turkey and he wanted also to thank us for donating our Istanbul show income to the victims of the devastating Van earthquake last year.

"Our tour in Turkey was amazing, supported by a great audience as always and it is for a good reason that Turkey is always described as ORPHANED LAND's second home.

"Once again we have proven that music stands above politics, above conflicts, and we ORPHANED LAND, a metal band from Israel are literally the unofficial ambassadors of Israel in the Arab world and Turkey. Hail oriental metal. Peace, Shalom, Salam!"

In related news, Kobi Farhi recently compiled the world's first "Oriental Metal" compilation, which is available now through Century Media Records.

"Oriental Metal" track listing:

01. ORPHANED LAND – Sapari (04:04)
02. AMASEFFER - Slaves For Life (06:43)
03. ARKAN - Deus Vult (04:58)
04. PENTAGRAM - Lions In A Cage (06:13)
05. MYRATH - Merciless Times (03:25)
06. ALMANA SHCHORA – Elohim (03:53)
07. NERVECELL - The Taste Of Betrayal (03:39)
08. KHALAS - Haz El Adala Mayel (02:47)
09. NILE – Kaffir (06:49)
10. MELECHESH - Grand Gathas Of Baal Sin (05:54)
11. AHL SINA - Fountains Of Muses (03:32)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).