OSTROGOTH Unveils New Lineup

April 8, 2014

Belgian metal legends OSTROGOTH have announced their new lineup, featuring original members Mario "Grizzly" Pauwels on drums and Rudy "White Shark" Vercruysse on guitar, joined by singer Josey Hindrix, guitarist Dario Frodo and new bass player Stripe, who replaces the recently departed Marnix "Bronco" Van de Kauter. OSTROGOTH's latest incarnation made its live debut this past weekend, performing in Germany, Austria and Italy, and will have its Belgian premiere on April 12 in Kortrijk.

According to AllMusic, OSTROGOTH released a string of albums through the Mausoleum label beginning in 1983, but the band's origins can actually be traced all the way back to the mid-'70s, when they began working their way through several lineups and various musical styles. It wasn't until vocalist Marc De Brouwer and guitarist Rudy Vercruysse joined Hans Van de Kerkhove (guitar),Marnix Van de Kauter (bass) and Mario Pauwels (drums) in 1981 that OSTROGOTH settled on a signature formula informed by the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal and burgeoning Continental European success stories like the SCORPIONS and ACCEPT.

Pictured (from left to right): Dario Frodo (guitar),Rudy Vercruysse (guitar),Josey Hindrix (vocals),Mario Pauwels (drums),Stripe (bass).

Photo credit: Bruno Dyserinck

Find more on Ostrogoth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email