PERIPHERY: Entire 'Juggernaut: Alpha' Album Available For Streaming

January 19, 2015

Washington D.C.-based progressive metal outfit PERIPHERY will release dual albums, "Juggernaut: Alpha" and "Juggernaut: Omega", in North America on January 27 via Sumerian (one day earlier internationally through Century Media Records).

The entire "Juggernaut: Alpha" album can now be streamed below.

"Given the nature and complexity of the 'Juggernaut' story, we've actually done something different and exciting in regards to the release," explains PERIPHERY drummer Matt Halpern.

"'Juggernaut' is a story that is told through our music, and we want our audience to fully digest the whole experience.

"Because 'Juggernaut' is very detailed and dense in terms of character development, peaks and valleys, climaxes and resolutions we've divided the story and music in two, in the form of two separate albums.

"'Juggernaut: Alpha', the first part of the story, focuses on the back story and character development, while part two/album two, 'Juggernaut: Omega', focuses on some pretty serious and gut-wrenching events, taking you for a thrill ride along the main character's complex journey.

"Although the albums are split in two physically, the story is only complete when the albums are digested consecutively, allowing the listener to recognize and hear the lyrical and musical overlapping themes, foreshadowing, and connected ideas."

PERIPHERY founder and guitarist Misha Mansoor says of the band's approach to writing and recording "Juggernaut", which saw all six members work collectively for the first time in PERIPHERY's history: "This is new ground and it's exciting. It's a way to shake things up.

"Everyone contributed to everything, even if it wasn't his instrument. It wasn’t about confrontation. Everyone was focused on creating a really cool album."

"Juggernaut: Alpha" track listing:

01. A Black Minute (4:16)
02. MK Ultra (2:50)
03. Heavy Heart (4:22)
04. The Event (1:45)
05. The Scourge (5:36)
06. Alpha (5:31)
07. 22 Faces (3:52)
08. Rainbow Gravity (4:39)
09. Four Lights (2:18)
10. Psychosphere (6:16)

"Juggernaut: Omega" track listing:

01. Reprise (1:25)
02. The Bad Thing (5:54)
03. Priestess (5:04)
04. Graveless (3:56)
05. Hell Below (3:43)
06. Omega (11:44)
07. Stranger Things (7:35)

PERIPHERY will embark on extensive touring around the release of "Juggernaut". First will be a five-week North American tour with support coming from NOTHING MORE, WOVENWAR and THANK YOU SCIENTIST. Next on their agenda are Russia, a full European tour with DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT and SHINING, which leads to a PERIPHERY headlining show in London, UK on April 1.



Find more on Periphery
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email