POISONBLACK: 'Of Rust And Bones' Cover Art Revealed

January 28, 2010

POISONBLACK — the Finnish band featuring former SENTENCED frontman Ville Laihiala — will release its fourth album, "Of Rust And Bones", via Century Media Records on the following dates:

* Finland: Wednesday, March 17
* Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy: Friday, March 19
* Spain: Tuesday, March 23
* Sweden, Hungary: Wednesday, March 24
* Rest Of Europe: Monday, March 22

The follow-up to 2008's "A Dead Heavy Day" was recorded with producer Hiili Hiilesmaa, who has previously worked with such acts as HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS and ENSIFERUM.

Commented the band: "The main goal was, while recording, to have nothing more or less than two guitars, drums, bass and keyboards with vocals on top. Basically, record how we sound as a band. A lot of music was recorded 'live,' with everyone playing the song instead of Tarmo playing drums with only one guitar and a click track. A couple of songs were played totally naked.

It's amazing how you really get into your instrument and the song when you don't have any clothes on... Hiili also played a big part in getting us in the right mood for each song.

"Lyrically the album is dealing with the uncontrollable craving for alcohol and boredom, frustration, hate, love and the fact that eventually everything will go down the drain."

The cover and booklet artwork was created by Teemu Hostikka and can be viewed below.

"Of Rust And Bones" track listing:

01. My Sun Shines Black
02. Leech
03. My World
04. Buried Alive
05. Invisible
06. Casket Case
07. Down The Drain
08. Alone
09. The Last Song
10. Half Past Dead (bonus track)

The limited-edition CD digipak featuring the bonus track "Half Past Dead" will be released in Finland and Germany only.

POISONBLACK will hit the road in beginning of April. The band will tour Finland and play some shows in Europe this coming spring and summer.

"A Dead Heavy Day" entered the Finnish chart at position No. 6. The effort was made available as standard CD, LP plus bonus CD as well as limited-edition CD plus bonus DVD containing a "Making Of A Dead Heavy Day", the video for the single "Rush" (taken from the band's 2006 effort "Lust-Stained Despair"),and seven songs filmed at an exclusive semi-acoustic gig at Radio Mega in the band's hometown of Oulu.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email