PRETTY MAIDS To Release 'Motherland' In March

January 15, 2013

Frontiers Records will release "Motherland", the new album from veteran Danish hard rockers PRETTY MAIDS, on March 22 in Europe and March 26 in North America.

After their successful and highly acclaimed 2010 album "Pandemonium", PRETTY MAIDS celebrated their 30th anniversary with their debut visual release, "It Comes Alive (Maid in Switzerland)", in 2012. "Pandemonium" showed the world that PRETTY MAIDS were in a creative spring again, with the band in their finest moment. The melodic approach brought a return to the "Future World" / "Red Hot And Heavy" era of the Eighties, but with an updated sound and freshness that consolidated PRETTY MAIDS as strong as ever.

In late spring 2012, the band gathered to finally write the follow-up album. Singer Ronnie Atkins states: "We knew it was going to be a tough one to follow. I remember back in the day when we had to follow-up albums like 'Future World', we tried more or less to copy the songs from the previous album to keep the same kind of balance. But this time we just wrote what came natural to us and that's what became 'Motherland'."

The band teamed up again with producer Jacob Hansen (VOLBEAT, AMARANTHE) for the new CD. Ronnie says: "Jacob was a natural choice since we had a great experience with him producing the 'Pandemonium' album. The recordings went smooth to begin with, but then we had to start touring again during the weekends and this created some stress. Though I really feel strongly about 'Motherland'. In my view, it has all the ingredients of a good PRETTY MAIDS album, maybe even more melodic than 'Pandemonium' and absolutely, as far as I'm concerned a worthy follow-up."

"Motherland" track listing:

01. Mother Of All Lies
02. To Fool A Natio
03. Confession
04. The Iceman
05. Sad To See You Suffer
06. Hooligan
07. Infinity
08. Why So Serious
09. Motherland
10. I See Ghosts
11. Bullet For You
12. Who What Where When Why
13. Wasted

The release of the new album will be preceded by the release of the single/video "Mother of All Lies", which will arrive on January 22.

PRETTY MAIDS will play numerous festivals this summer, such as Wacken Open Air and Bang Your Head!!!, followed by an extensive world tour in support of "Motherland".


Ronnie Atkins - Vocals
Ken Hammer - Guitars
Morten Sandager - Keyboards
Allan Tschicaja - Drums
Rene Shades - Bass

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email