PRIMAL FEAR Announces New Guitarist

March 4, 2008

German power metallers PRIMAL FEAR, who yesterday announced that guitarist Stefan Leibing was leaving the band in order to focus on family life, have issued the following update:

"We've decided to continue with one of the most exciting and respected guitar player in the business — Magnus Karlsson from Sweden. Magnus is known from his excellent work as a guitarist, songwriter and producer for ALLEN/LANDE, MAGNUM's BOB CATLEY, STARBREAKER and many more. We're looking forward to hit the road again with a special best-of setlist and Magnus will be an additional attraction for the shows. It looks like we're planning to get back into the recording studio after the summer festival season to work on a new album!"

PRIMAL FEAR singer Ralf Scheepers comments: "After working together with Magnus on several songs for our previous albums 'Seven Seals' and 'New Religion', it's more than a pleasure to have him in the band now. In my ears he is one of the most talented guitarists on this planet and he is also an excellent composer. I absolutely look forward to rock the stages of this world with him!"

Magnus Karlsson added: "I've been a big fan of PRIMAL FEAR since I first heard them. I love their straight-forward metal in combination with beautiful melodies and a world-class musicianship. That's why I'm both honoured and excited to join PRIMAL FEAR on their mission to show the world that metal is forever!"

Stefan Leibing's final performance with the band will take place on April 26 at the 10th anniversary concert in Reichenbach at H2O. Says the band, "[Stefan] will be on stage for some special songs, including a meet-and-greet. This will be a very emotional and unique moment for us all!"

PRIMAL FEAR's new album, "New Religion", last year landed on the Swedish chart at No. 67. It also entered the German chart at No. 60. "[This is] the [PRIMAL FEAR's] highest chart entry since 'Black Sun' in 2002," according to the band.

"New Religion" was released in the U.S. on January 29 via Locomotive/Ryko. Guest musicians on the album include Magnus Karlsson (STARBREAKER, ALLEN/LANDE),Kai Hansen (GAMMA RAY, ex-HELLOWEEN) and Simone Simons (EPICA).

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email