PSYCHOTIC WALTZ: 'The Architects Arise: The First Ten Years' Box Due In March

February 16, 2011

Reunited San Diego, California-based progressive metal band PSYCHOTIC WALTZ is in the midst of intense rehearsals for its upcoming slot on the "Power Of Metal" tour, set to take place in mainland Europe between February 25 and March 20. The group will play a 45-minute set on the trek, which will also feature NEVERMORE, SYMPHONY X, MERCENARY and THAUROROD. This will mark PSYCHOTIC WALTZ's first live appearances in 14 years, and will see the reunion of the original lineup that recorded the band's first three albums: Devon Graves (a.k.a. Buddy Lackey) on vocals, Dan Rock and Brian McAlpin on guitars, Ward Evans on bass and Norm Leggio on drums.

PSYCHOTIC WALTZ is in the process of confirming two European festival appearances for the summer, but beyond those two dates, it doesn't seem likely that any further live shows will be possible in 2011. Upon returning home at the end of March, the band plans to start creating new material with the possibility of recording a new studio album with the original lineup. Therefore, any fans in the European mainland hoping to see the band are encouraged to attend "Power Of Metal", as tickets are still available for most shows.

In other news, all four of PSYCHOTIC WALTZ 's studio albums will be released together in a deluxe, limited vinyl box by Century Media Records in Europe. Titled "The Architects Arise: The First Ten Years", this box will contain gatefold 180-gram LPs of all four studio records plus their ASLAN (pre-PSYCHOTIC WALTZ) demo from 1986 and the "Into The Everflow" demo. This six-LP box will be limited to 500 copies, and the band will have copies of the box for sale during the "Power Of Metal" tour, while supplies last. Additionally, 500 extra copies of "A Social Grace", "Into The Everflow" and "Bleeding" will be pressed in a different vinyl color and sold individually.

Reini of Austria's webzine last year conducted an interview with PSYCHOTIC WALTZ vocalist Devon Graves (a.k.a. Buddy Lackey). You can now watch the chat below.

PSYCHOTIC WALTZ's current lineup is :

* Devon Graves (a.k.a. Buddy Lackey) - Vocals
* Brian McAlpin - Guitar
* Dan Rock - Guitar
* Ward Evans - Bass
* Norman Leggio - Drums

PSYCHOTIC WALTZ's last studio album, "Bleeding", was released in 1996. Scott Burns engineered the effort, which was mixed by Dan Rock and Woody Barber.

In the years that followed PSYCHOTIC WALTZ's demise, Rock recorded two instrumental albums with his project DARKSTAR. In the meantime, Norm Leggio and Steve Cox created the band TEABAG, while Buddy Lackey launched his own group, DEADSOUL TRIBE, where he performs using his real name, Devon Graves.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email