PUREST OF PAIN Feat. DELAIN Members: 'Vessels' Video

March 15, 2018

"Vessels", the new video from the Dutch melodic death metal band PUREST OF PAIN, can be seen below. The song is taken from the group's debut album, "Solipsis", which was released on March 1. The follow-up to the 2013 single "Momentum" and 2011 EP "Revelations In Obscurity" has been made available on CD, vinyl plus as a digital release.

Led by guitarist and main songwriter Merel Bechtold (DELAIN),who also performs in much-respected bands MAYAN and THE GENTLE STORM, the energetic quintet from Holland, which now includes DELAIN drummer Joey de Boer, combines Scandinavian metal influences with groove, ambiance, tone and melody.

"Solipsis" was seven years in the making, from the writing process up to the final mastering to launching a successful online crowdfunding campaign on IndieGoGo (raising over 18,000 euros),along with increasing its funds through live performances, which saw PUREST OF PAIN open for such bands as OPETH, TEXTURES, SUICIDE SILENCE, UNEARTH and ATTACK ATTACK! plus an unforgettable slot at Wacken Open Air in 2014. The effort contains 14 tracks of brutality blended with groove and emotion produced by Bechtold with recording done at Mantis Audio Studio (DELAIN) and mastering by Jens Bogren (OPETH, ARCH ENEMY, SOILWORK).

Bechtold comments: "'Solipsis' is a guitar-oriented record. It has been recorded as organic as possible: partly at home, partly at Mantis Audio Studio. The song 'E.M.D.R.' is written by fellow guitarist Michael van Eck. All the other songs were summoned by myself. The lyrics are written by vocalist J.D. Kaye. And even though the music is at times technical and challenging, it's undeniably driven by relentless groove, enhanced by hugely melodic passages, wonderful tone and moments of ambient clarity."

The CD and vinyl versions of "Solipsis" have slightly altered artwork. Bechtold was responsible for its concept and bass player Frank van Leeuwen designed and finalized the covers.

"Solipsis" track listing:

01. The Pragmatic (1:19)
02. Truth–seeker (2:09)
03. Vessels (2:59)
04. Crown Of Worms (3:42)
05. Momentum (5:05)
06. The Sleep Of Reason (1:33)
07. Tidebreaker (4:16)
08. Trial & Error (4:49)
09. Terra Nil (6:05)
10. Noctambulist (3:38)
11. E.M.D.R. (4:21)
12. Phantom Limb (4:09)
13. The Solipsist (3:52)
14. The End (2:25)


J.D. Kaye - Vocals
Merel Bechtold - Guitars
Michael van Eck - Guitars
Frank van Leeuwen - Bass
Joey de Boer - Drums

Find more on Delain
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email