September 6, 2011

Metal Blade Records has announced the signing of Swedish heavy metallers RAM. The band's third album, "Death", will be released in early 2012. The CD was recorded at Welfare Sounds Studios in the group's hometown and was mastered by Dragan Tanaskovic at Bohus Sound.

Comments the band: "We are very pleased and proud to sign with a metal label that has done so much for heavy metal and has such an amazing legacy. We are also very pleased to become labelmates with our good friends and fellow Swedish old-school headbangers PORTRAIT and IN SOLITUDE. Now with the Blade of metal behind our backs the conquest of demolition continues! HEAVY METAL TYRANNY!"

"Death" track listing:

01. Death...
02. ...Comes From The Mouth Beyond
03. I Am The End
04. Release Me
05. Defiant
06. Frozen
07. Under The Scythe
08. Hypnos
09. Flame Of The Tyrants
10. 1 7 7 1

"Death" features a guest appearance by Swedish multi-instrumentalist Freddie Wadling who has had a very successful solo career in addition to having played with such cult acts as THE LEATHER NUN, BLUE FOR TWO and FLSKKVARTETTEN.

RAM vocalist Oscar Carlquist previously stated about the band's new album, "Again we are pushing the envelope of the RAM sound.

"This album differs quite a bit from our 2009 release, 'Lightbringer'; the sound is rawer and has a strong nerve and honest live-like feel, but still it is extremely powerful. It was produced by me and Harry Granroth (guitars) and Per Stlberg and Olle Bjrk and recorded at Welfare Studios here in Gothenburg. Dragan Tanaskovic is also a huge part of this by contributing massive power in the mastering process. Song-wise, we are showing new sides of the band.

"The album is a 10-song sonic rollercoaster displaying an array of different styles, emotions tempos and aggressions, but all within the concept of traditional heavy metal, of course.

"In all honesty, I can't choose one single song that is representative of the sound of the album as a whole. We are really pleased with this album that feels like a really cool direction to take from 'Lightbringer' and we can't wait to blast these new song live!"

RAM last year parted ways with bassist Christian Strmblad and replaced him with Tobias Pettersson from the underground black metal band VORNTH.

RAM is:

Oscar Carlquist - Vocals
Morgan Pettersson - Drums
Harry Granroth - Guitar
Daniel Johansson - Guitar
Tobias Petterson - Bass

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email