RATT's Classic Albums Compiled On 'The Atlantic Years: 1984-1991' Limited-Edition Box Set

April 6, 2023

BMG, in partnership with Rhino Entertainment, has announced "The Atlantic Years: 1984-1991" limited-edition box set celebrating RATT's massively successful period where all five of their studio albums were certified gold, platinum or multi-platinum. Due on June 9, the LP set features all five albums remastered on 180g black vinyl, rare "Nobody Rides For Free" seven-inch single, 1- page replica tour book (featuring rare and never-before-seen photos from RATT's personal archives),11"x17" "Wanted" poster, bumper sticker, replica backstage pass, and guitar pick in a custom lift top box. The CD set features all five of the studio albums in a side loading box.

All albums feature the classic RATT lineup of Stephen Pearcy (vocals),Warren DeMartini (guitars),Robbin Crosby (guitars),Juan Croucier (bass/vocals),and Bobby Blotzer (drums).

Formed in Los Angeles, RATT was featured as an unsigned act on "Uncle Joe Benson's Local Licks Drive Time" show on KLOS-FM. This was their first time on radio and led to their signing to Atlantic Records.

RATT exploded on to the national scene in 1984 with the release of "Out Of The Cellar". Featuring an undeniable hook and legendary music video, lead single "Round And Round" hit No. 12 on the Billboard Hot 100, while "Out Of The Cellar" reached No. 7 on the Billboard 200 and was certified triple platinum. Two more charting singles followed with "Back For More" and "Wanted Man". RATT started the tour as an opening act, but by the end of the tour had climbed to arena headliner.

RATT returned in 1985 with its second full-length album, "Invasion Of Your Privacy". Certified double platinum and also reaching No. 7 on the Billboard 200, "Invasion Of Your Privacy" also featured the classics "Lay It Down" (No. 40 on Billboard Hot 100) and "You're In Love".

"Dancing Undercover" followed in 1986 as RATT toured North America with a then-brand new Los Angeles band called POISON as the opening act. Lead single "Dance" hit the Billboard Hot 100 and spawned another music video hit with "Slip Of The Lip", while "Body Talk" was featured in a key scene in the Eddie Murphy film "The Golden Child". "Dancing Undercover" became RATT's third consecutive platinum album and reached No. 26 on the Billboard 200.

1988's "Reach For The Sky" saw RATT return to the Top 20 of the Billboard 200 album charts, peaking at No. 17. Driven by the bluesy hit and MTV favorite "Way Cool Jr.", "Reach For The Sky" was also certified platinum and became RATT's fourth album in a row to move well over a million copies. "I Want A Woman" was also a successful single and the video captured the excitement and energy of RATT live.

RATT released its last full-length record of the Atlantic era, "Detonator", in 1990. Music was changing, but "Detonator" was still a success, peaking at No. 23 on the Billboard 200 and going gold. It was the first RATT album to feature major outside songwriting contributions (Desmond Child, Diane Warren) and guests (Jon Bon Jovi, Michael Schenker). Lead single "Lovin' You's A Dirty Job" hit No. 18 on the rock chart while the power ballad "Giving Yourself Away" reached No. 39.

In 1991, they released the single "Nobody Rides For Free" from the hit film "Point Break", starring Keanu Reeves and Patrick Swayze, which is exclusive to the LP box.

"Out Of The Cellar" (1984)

01. Wanted Man (Cristofanilli/Crosby/Pearcy)
02. You're In Trouble (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby)
03. Round And Round (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby)
04. In Your Direction (Pearcy)
05. She Wants Money (Croucier)
06. Lack Of Communication (Croucier/Pearcy)
07. Back For More (Pearcy/Crosby)
08. The Morning After (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby)
09. I'm Insane (Crosby)
10. Scene Of The Crime (Crosby/Croucier)

"Invasion Of Your Privacy" (1985)

01. You're In Love (Croucier/Pearcy)
02. Never Use Love (Pearcy)
03. Lay It Down (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier)
04. Give It All (Pearcy/Crosby)
05. Closer To My Heart (Crosby/Pearcy)
06. Between The Eyes (DeMartini/Pearcy)
07. What You Give Is What You Get (Croucier)
08. Got Me On The Line (Crosby/Pearcy)
09. You Should Know By Now (Crosby/Pearcy/Croucier)
10. Dangerous But Worth The Risk (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)

"Dancing Undercover" (1986)

01. Dance (Pearcy/Crosby/DeMartini/Hill)
02. One Good Lover (Crosby/Pearcy)
03. Drive Me Crazy (Pearcy/Crosby/DeMartini/Blotzer)
04. Slip Of The Lip (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)
05. Body Talk (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)
06. Looking For Love (Crosby/Pearcy/Croucier)
07. 7th Avenue (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)
08. It Doesn't Matter (Croucier/Pearcy)
09. Take A Chance (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier)
10. Enough Is Enough (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier)

"Reach For The Sky" (1988)

01. City To City (Pearcy/Crosby/DeMartini/Croucier/Hill)
02. I Want A Woman (Crosby/Pearcy/Croucier/Hill)
03. Way Cool Jr. (DeMartini/Pearcy/Hill)
04. Don't Bite The Hand That Feeds (Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier/Hill)
05. I Want To Love You Tonight (DeMartini/Crosby/Pearcy)
06. Chain Reaction (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)
07. No Surprise (DeMartini/Pearcy)
08. Bottom Line (Croucier/Pearcy/DeMartini/Crosby/Hill)
09. What's It Gonna Be (Croucier/DeMartini/Crosby/Pearcy/Hill)
10. What I'm After (Croucier/Pearcy)

"Detonator" (1990)

01. Intro To Shame (DeMartini)
02. Shame Shame Shame (DeMartini/Pearcy/Child)
03. Lovin' You's A Dirty Job (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier/Child)
04. Scratch That Itch (Croucier/Pearcy/Child)
05. One Step Away (Blotzer/Pearcy/DeMartini/Croucier/Child)
06. Hard Time (DeMartini/Pearcy/Child)
07. Heads I Win, Tails You Lose (DeMartini/Pearcy/Child)
08. All Or Nothing (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Kilgore/Child)
09. Can't Wait On Love (Crosby/Croucier/DeMartini/Pearcy/Blotzer/Child)
10. Givin' Yourself Away (Child/Warren/Pearcy)
11. Top Secret (Pearcy/DeMartini/Child)

"Nobody Rides For Free" seven-inch single exclusive to LP box

Find more on Ratt
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).