REFUSED Unveils Video For SLAYER-Influenced Song 'Dawkins Christ'

June 17, 2015

The official video for the song "Dawkins Christ" from the reunited seminal Swedish hardcore band REFUSED can be seen below. The track is taken from the group's new album, "Freedom", which will be released on June 30 via Epitaph. The CD was produced by Nick Launay (ARCADE FIRE, Kate Bush, Nick Cave) except for the songs "Elektra" and "366", which were helmed and co-written by Shellback, the Swedish pop superproducer who has worked with pop superstars Taylor Swift, Britney Spears and Pink, among others.

Says the band about "Dawkins Christ": "The title refers to the famous biologist whose atheist theology has inspired a semi-cult who in turn sees him as a messianic figure, an irony that partly inspired the lyrics. The music draws from the film scores of Hans Zimmer and Ennio Morricone as well as pre-'Reign In Blood' SLAYER."

"Freedom" will get a limited-edition CD release featuring a 28-page hardbound book with a poster and gold foil stamping on the album cover.

"Freedom" track listing:

01. Elektra
02. Old Friends / New War
03. Dawkins Christ
04. Françafrique
05. Thought Is Blood
06. War On The Palaces
07. Destroy The Man
08. 366
09. Servants Of Death
10. Useless Europeans

"It's not a reunion anymore," said REFUSED frontman Dennis Lyxzén in a statement. "This is one of the most radical things we've ever done, both musically and lyrically."

"Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up," added drummer David Sandström. "Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us."

REFUSED last year parted ways with guitarist Jon Brännström. He revealed his exit from the group in an October 31, 2014 posting on REFUSED's Facebook page, where he wrote: "I was fired from REFUSED a while ago. I wasn't given a reasonable explanation and wasn't even invited to sit down and talk about it, so I'm not completely sure why they decided to go on without me."

Back in 2012, REFUSED embarked on a reunion tour where the band performed tracks from its classic 1998 album, "The Shape of Punk To Come", at festivals around the world. The final show of the trek took place on December 15, 2012 in REFUSED's hometown of Umeå, Sweden.

REFUSED's legacy was chronicled via the "Refused Are Fucking Dead" collection, which featured never-before-seen material and videos. In addition, REFUSED's landmark 1998 album, "The Shape Of Punk To Come", was remixed and remastered in 5.1 surround DVD audio format, and was re-released through Epitaph Records. Also re-released were remastered editions of REFUSED's "Songs To Fan The Flames Of Discontent" and "The EP Compilation" CDs.


Find more on Refused
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).