May 5, 2021

RESURRECTION KINGS, the project featuring Craig Goldy (guitar),Chas West (vocals) and Vinny Appice (drums),will release its sophomore album, "Skygazer", on July 16 via Frontiers Music Srl. The follow-up to 2015's self-titled debut picks up where that LP left off, offering a magnificent set of songs with big, heavy riffs coupled with loads of catchy hooks and melodies.

Today, the band has released the first taste of music from the album, the title track. Check it out below.

Goldy says: "Once again, with the talent pool in which we have access to create, we all brought our 'A' game to the writing and recording of this album. With the freedom to utilize the music that we all were influenced by that started our musical endeavours to begin with, hopefully we expanded upon them in a way in which to inspire another generation of listeners to start a similar journey."

Goldy is truly on fire here, hitting every note with passion and feel. West shows off his massive pipes, delivering an exquisite hard rock performance. Appice is, as always, rock solid behind the kit. Fans who loved the '80s hard rock/metal vibe coupled with touches of '70s legends of the band's debut, will have much to celebrate with "Skygazer".

Of the first single, the title track, Goldy says: "'It started out with a drum groove sent to me by Vinny. His unequaled playing style automatically inspired the music and then Alessandro [Del Vecchio, Frontiers Music Srl's in-house producer] wrote most of the melody lines and lyrics. Besides the music, I wrote the melody and lyrics for two pre-choruses that sum up the song's meaning. It is a metaphor for the lengths to which our nations' leaders will go to acquire, keep, or grab more power for their own ambitions. That leaves us in their wake asking what measures are needed to defend ourselves. All of this comes at what price though?"

The idea for RESURRECTION KINGS sprang from a set of demos Goldy recorded with West, a vocalist with an unbelievable set of pipes, who has worked over the years with Jason Bonham, FOREIGNER, TRIBE OF GYPSIES, and his own band, WEST BOUND. From there, Frontiers president and head of A&R Serafino Perugino became involved and prompted Goldy to put together a lineup which also included Appice. Produced and co-written by Del Vecchio, the resulting self-titled debut album was an impressive example of classic hard rock with contemporary production and edge, mixing a vibe of WHITESNAKE's "1987" with DIO's "Dream Evil" and adding a touch of classic LED ZEPPELIN and RAINBOW. An extremely fun, rockin' record where the musicians were able to stretch their wings and really go for it in their performances.

Track listing:

01. Skygazer
02. World's On Fire
03. Tears
04. Fight Against Our Pride
05. Angry Demons
06. Savior Of Souls
07. Don't Blame Our Love
08. Is This The End
09. Troubled Soul
10. Set Me On Fire
11. Calling All Angels

Recording lineup:

Chas West - Vocals
Craig Goldy - Guitars, keyboards, bass
Vinny Appice - Drums
Alessandro Del Vecchio - production, bass and keyboards

Find more on Dio
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).