Reunited AVENGER To Release 'The Slaughter Never Stops' In September

May 12, 2014

NWOBHM legends AVENGER have inked a deal with Rocksector Records for the release of their third album, "The Slaughter Never Stops". Due on September 1, the band's first new release since 1985's "Killer Elite" was recorded at Blast Studios in Newcastle, U.K. and Leather Bear Studios in Sunderland, U.K. The effort was engineered and mixed by Dean Thompson.

"The Slaughter Never Stops" track listing:

01. Mace Imperial
02. Race Against Time
03. Fate
04. Fields Of The Burnt
05. Into The Nexus
06. Decimated
07. In Arcadia Go!
08. Killers (IRON MAIDEN cover)
09. Flayer Psychosis
10. Shot To Hell
11. Midnight Mass Destruction

The song "Fate" can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below.

Brian Ross, Mick Moore and Gary Young founded AVENGER late in 1982 following the breakup of BLITZKRIEG. Their debut single, "Too Wild To Tame", followed in October 1983. Shortly after, lead singer Brian Ross left to join SATAN, while SATAN's singer Ian Swift made the opposite move to join AVENGER.

AVENGER's classic lineup released a debut album, "Blood Sports", in 1984 on Neat Records and toured Europe extensively. The band's second LP, "Killer Elite", was released in 1985, again on Neat, along with three music videos and later a tour of the United States, yet after returning to England, the band split, with Ian Swift joining ATOMKRAFT and Gary Young later hooking up with BLITZKRIEG.

After AVENGER's entire discography was re-released in 2002/2003 by Sanctuary Records, the band reformed in 2005 and has since toured Europe with U.S. rockers Y&T, also appearing alongside TWISTED SISTER, CANDLEMASS, SAXON, DIAMOND HEAD and RAVEN.

Now reunited with classic lineup vocalist Ian Swift, a new chapter begins with shows across Europe and a new album, "The Slaughter Never Stops".

Mark Appleton of Rocksector Records says: "Hooking up with AVENGER is an exciting step. On the one hand, the new album is, of course, a much-anticipated event from a band with history and heritage, but also when listening to the song 'Fate', available now as a free download, it's clear how relevant and vibrant this music remains."


Ian Swift - Lead Vocals
Sean Jefferies - Guitar
Liam Thompson - Guitar, Backing Vocals
Ian Fulton - Bass, Backing Vocals
Gary Young - Drums, Backing Vocals


Find more on Avenger
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).