Reunited FORT To Perform Entire 'Stranger Than Fiction' Album At Hometown Gig

June 28, 2011

The original lineup of the Oklahoma speed metal quartet FORT will reunite for a July 3 concert at Big Papa's in Oklahoma City as the support act for LIZZY BORDEN. FORT consisting of James Randel (ex-OLIVER MAGNUM) and Rev Jones (MSG, STEELHEART) alongside brothers Jeff and Greg Scott will perform its 1992 debut album, "Stranger Than Fiction", in its entirety!

FORT was founded in Oklahoma City in 1987 by brothers Jeff and Greg Scott and were in time joined by bassist Ghames "Rev" Jones and ex-OLIVER MAGNUM vocalist James Randel. In the early stages, FORT played an abundant of shows quickly establishing themselves within the flourishing underground metal scene by opening for bands like PANTERA, DREAM THEATER, FATES WARNING, WATCHTOWER, OVERKILL, SAVATAGE and TROUBLE.

After spending time on the road hammering out and fine tuning everything they recorded and released their now-classic "Dementia By Design" demo tape in 1989. It was both fan and critic favorite and their popularity began to spread worldwide as it went on to sell a stunning 1,500 copies. The demo's title track was even featured on Metal Blade Records' "Metal Massacre" series, giving the band even more exposure which they certainly used to their advantage. Not wanting to slow the building momentum they delivered an impressive showcase at the Concrete Foundations Forum. Germany's Massacre Records was in attendance and quickly signed FORT to the band's first recording contract.

FORT's debut album, "Stranger Than Fiction", was released in 1992 stunning both critics and their ever expanding fan base with its intensity, speed, power and excellent use of melody.

"Stranger Than Fiction" has been unavailable for years and with the lineup back together and prepping a new album for release in 2011, Divebomb Records decided it was time to re-release this classic slab of melodic/power/thrash metal. Working in conjunction with the band, the label was able to unearth two original FORT demo tapes for inclusion on this new deluxe edition to make it the most comprehensive collection of their early years.

Released on March 15, the "Stranger Than Fiction" deluxe-edition reissue features the following track listing:

01. Coming Of The Storm
02. The Inner Circle
03. Stranger Than Fiction
04. G-13 (Devoid Of Thought)
05. Mein Madness
06. Time And Time Again
07. Digitator
08. Between The Lies
09. The Last Word
10. The Promise

Bonus tracks:

11. Dementia By Design (MMXI Version)

"Dementia By Design" (Demo - 1989)

12. Between The Lies
13. Dementia By Design
14. Digitator
15. Mein Madness
16. The Promise

"Fort" (Demo - 1991)

17. Stranger Than Fiction
18. The Inner Circle
19. Devoid Of Thought
20. The Coming Of The Storm
21. The Last Word

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).