REVERTIGO Feat. CANDLEMASS, TREAT Members: 'Sailing Stones' Video

February 5, 2018

Frontiers Music Srl will release the debut album from REVERTIGO, a Stockholm, Sweden-based duo formed by Mats Levén (vocals) and Anders Wikström (guitar),on February 23. As close personal and musical friends for nearly 30 years, REVERTIGO is the next chapter in an ongoing collaboration.

The official video for the song "Sailing Stones" can be seen below.

Anders says: "Mats and I always had an idea of creating something that would celebrate the fact that we really enjoy working together, but with busy separate music careers, it wasn't until 2016, we sat down and concentrated on new songs with a firm plan."

Adds Mats: "The fact that we, besides writing for other international artists, hadn't done a proper album together in twenty-five years also gave the writing and recording process of REVERTIGO a purpose."

In September 2016, a three-song demo found its way to Frontiers Music Srl, which decided to sign the band on the spot. In between touring activities with CANDLEMASS, TREAT and TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA, the pair finalized the eleven songs featured on the debut album. All the instruments on the album are played by Mats and Anders, except for the drums, which were performed by their dear friend Thomas Broman (GREAT KING RAT, MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP, ELECTRIC BOYS).

"Both of us have a strong mutual vision; that's why we choose to play and sing most of the instruments and parts on the album ourselves," says Mats. Peter Mansson is responsible for the mixing duties, which took place at Mir Studios in Stockholm and Svante Forsbäck mastered at Chartmakers in Helsinki.

REVERTIGO's music itself is a blend of heavy-yet-melodic songs paying tribute to their favorite albums and artists from the '70s, '80s and up to present day filtered through the chemistry that comes to life when Mats and Anders join forces.

"I love when you get that teenage excitement together over a song idea, and how you hear a finished gem in your head, hence the band's name REVERTIGO," says Mats.

"We might not be reinventing the wheel, but we're certainly putting on fresh tires," says Anders.

"Revertigo" track listing:

01. Hoodwinked
02. Sailing Stones
03. Symphony Of Fallen Angels
04. The Cause
05. Gate Of The Gods
06. False Flag
07. Unobtainium
08. Luciferian Break Up
09. Joan Of Arc
10. Break Away
11. In Revertigo

Find more on Candlemass
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email