Former STRATOVARIUS mainman Timo Tolkki has announced that he has selected a keyboardist for his new project REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE. Although Timo has yet to reveal the musician's identity, Tolkki did offer that the band's newest addition "is not Jens [Johansson, ex-STRATOVARIUS keyboardist]."

REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE will release its debut album, "New Era", on June 6 via Frontiers Records. According to a press release, the CD "is a masterpiece of melodic power metal, taking the listener straight back to the 'Visions'-era STRATOVARIUS. In fact, 'New Era' is the album that was meant to be the next STRATOVARIUS album.

"Timo called a few friends for the recording sessions and the album features all the lead vocals from such legends as Michael Kiske [HELLOWEEN] and Tobias Sammet [EDGUY, AVANTASIA], along with Timo's blistering lead guitar lines and melodic power metal anthems that made him one of the pioneers of the style and trademark performers of the style. REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE witnesses a rebirth, a new era for Timo Tolkki and his music."

Other musicians that reportedly appear on "New Era" include Pasi Rantanen (vocals; THUNDERSTONE), Mirka Rantanen (drums; THUNDERSTONE) and Pasi Heikkil (bass; 45 DEGREE WOMAN).

"Revolution Renaissance" track listing (singer of each song listed next to its title):

01. Heroes (Sammet)
02. I Did It My Way (Kiske)
03. We Are Magic (Rantanen)
04. Angel (Kiske)
05. Eden Is Burning (Rantanen)
06. Glorious And Divine (Sammet)
07. Born Upon The Cross (Rantanen)
08. Keep The Flame Alive (Kiske)
09. Last Night On Earth (Kiske)
10. Revolution Renaissance (Kiske)

Download an MP3 of the song "Last Night On Earth" at the REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE MySpace page.

Check out more audio samples at this location.

In a recent issue of Finland's Soundi magazine, Tolkki states about the CD, "The [REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE album] contains more or less 'Visions'-style [STRATOVARIUS' acclaimed 1997 release] power metal. Michael Kiske, Pasi Rantanen, Mirka Rantanen, Pasi Heikkil and Tobias Sammet have recorded their parts. But if there are any live performances, the lineup won't be the same. I have been thinking of asking Jens [Johansson, STRATOVARIUS keyboardist] and Lauri [Porra, STRATOVARIUS bassist] to join me for this."

Regarding the band's name, Timo says, "On the album, there's one song with this title, and Frontiers suggested it to be the band's name too. I thought it was good idea."

When asked if he will perform any STRATOVARIUS songs with REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE, Tolkki replies, "Well, what do you think? Of course. I can play my songs with whomever I want."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).