RIVERSIDE: 'Wasteland' Album Details Revealed

July 17, 2018

Polish rock masters RIVERSIDE will release their seventh studio album, "Wasteland", on September 28 via their longtime label InsideOut Music. The disc will once again feature artwork designed by longtime visual partner Travis Smith (OPETH, DEVIN TOWNSEND).

"Wasteland" track listing:

01. The Day After
02. Acid Rain
03. Vale Of Tears
04. Guardian Angel
05. Lament
06. The Struggle For Survival
07. River Down Below
08. Wasteland
09. The Night Before

RIVERSIDE's Mariusz Duda checked in with the following comment about the album's overall concept: "I'd been thinking about exploring 'post-apocalyptic' regions for a long time. I read books, watched films, played video games, all connected by stories about an attempt to survive in a world that had just ended. But writing such a story myself didn't make much sense until now.

"RIVERSIDE are starting a new chapter and after our recent experiences, a story like that has gained more meaning. 'Wasteland' is mostly about what's happening in the world these days but it also makes a reference to the tragedy that befell the band in 2016. Musically, we've returned to darker sounds but we have also turned a new page and recorded the album in a different style. It's still RIVERSIDE, but expressed in a much deeper and more mature way.

"Most artists say the same thing while promoting their new releases: that they have just created their best work to date. I won't say that because everything we have done so far has been consistently very good and unique. But I will say that we have never had such an incredible emotional load on any of our previous releases, and it's not likely that we will ever make such a charged album again. 'Wasteland' is an epic, multidimensional, poetic and very deep album. Perhaps of the once-in-a-lifetime kind.”

RIVERSIDE's "Wasteland" marks the first studio album effort with newly composed music after the tragic passing of founding member and guitarist Piotr Grudziński on February 21, 2016.

After having just performed on a string of European festivals, including the prestigious Night Of The Prog festival at the historic Loreley Amphitheater in Germany last weekend, RIVERSIDE is next embarking on the "Wasteland 2018 Tour" throughout October/November to support the release of the upcoming album.

Find more on Riverside
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email