ROB ZOMBIE's 'War Zone' To Receive iTunes-Exclusive Release Tomorrow

Lionsgate has announced the iTunes-exclusive release of ROB ZOMBIE's "War Zone", the lead single from the soundtrack "Punisher: War Zone", from Marvel Comics' latest film adaptation of fictional vigilante and deadly antihero Frank Castle. This original track, written for the film, is the first new music in three years from Zombie and has already been heard and linked to by thousands of fans via the film's web site where it was posted in its entirety on Monday, October 20. This special iTunes release is a Halloween Zombie treat for fans who will be equally pleased when the album attacks stores on November 25. The film opens nationwide on December 5.

The original track "War Zone", written for and inspired by the film, contains the kind of raw, throttling energy that has made ROB ZOMBIE a platinum-selling artist. Rob Zombie said, "I love writing music for films, rather than just throwing them an unwanted B side or remix. This track was written exclusively for 'Punisher: War Zone'. A punishing track for a punishing movie."

The record also features SLAYER's 2008 Grammy-winning "Final Six" and current chart-topping singles from SLIPKNOT "Psychosocial" and SEETHER "Fallen". The beatdown doesn't stop there, with a broad mix of new and unreleased music that spans every niche of the rock genre, including unreleased songs by premiere punk group RISE AGAINST and emo scenesters SENSES FAIL. Dan Trapp of SENSES FAIL had this to say: "We are super-excited to be a part of the 'Punisher' legacy… when we heard we were going to be involved, we all threw up in our hands out of excitement."

Providing extra ammunition to round out the album are emerging artists Kerli, highly praised electronica duo JUSTICE, and an inspired, propulsive original score by Michael Wandmacher. This all adds up to make the "Punisher: War Zone" soundtrack one of the most anticipated of the season.

"Punisher: War Zone" track listing is as follows:

01. "War Zone" - ROB ZOMBIE
02. "Final Six" - SLAYER
03. "Psychosocial" - SLIPKNOT
04. "Historia Calamitatum" - RISE AGAINST
05. "Fallen" - SEETHER
06. "Bulletproof" - KERLI
07. [To Be Determined - Contest Winner]
08. "The Past Is Proof" - SENSES FAIL
09. "Butterfly Wings" - MACHINES OF LOVING GRACE
10. "Genesis" - JUSTICE
11. "Showdown" - PENDULUM
12. "Refuse" - HATEBREED
13. "Lunatic" - STATIC-X
14. "Days Of Revenge" - RAMALLAH
15. "The Punisher Main Title" - MICHAEL WANDMACHER


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).