ROTTING CHRIST To Release 'Lucifer Over Athens' Double Live Album In August

June 30, 2015

Greek extreme metal veterans ROTTING CHRIST will release a live double album, "Lucifer Over Athens", on August 21 via Season Of Mist. The cover artwork for the CD was created by Ukrainian artist Nurgeslag, who already provided the cover of ROTTING CHRIST's latest masterpiece, 2013's "Kata Ton Demona Eaftou".

"Lucifer Over Athens" was recorded in ROTTING CHRIST's hometown in December 2013 in front of a wild crowd.

A track from the album, "Athanatoi Este", can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below.

Regarding "Athanatoi Este", ROTTING CHRIST guitarist/vocalist Sakis Tolis comments: "The reason that we have chosen 'Athanatoi Este' as the first song to represent and give you an idea about our first-ever official live album, 'Lucifer Over Athens', lies in the translation of this song's title: 'You Are Immortals'! It is to all our dedicated followers that we give our deepest respect and love, which will be: immortal!"

CD 1

01. 6 6 6
02. Dub-Sag-Ta-Ke
03. Athanatoi Este
04. Kata Ton Demona Eaftou
05. Nemecic
06. After Dark I Feel
07. Sorrowfull Farewell
08. Among Two Storms
09. Gloria De Domino Inferni
10. Feast Of The Grand Whore
11. The Nereid Of Esgalduin
12. Forest Of N'Gai
13. The Sign Of Evil Existence
14. Transform All Sufferings Into Plagues
15. Fgmenth, Thy Gift
16. Societas Satanas

CD 2

01. Demonon Vrosis
02. Quintessence
03. The Call Of The Aethyrs
04. In Yumen - Xibalba
05. Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
06. Welcome To Hel
07. King Of A Stellar War
08. Archon
09. Exiled Archangels
10. Dive The Deepest Abyss
11. The Fourth Knight Of Revelation
12. The Sign Of Prime Creation
13. Non Serviam
14. Enuma Elish
15. Noctis Era

Sakis states about "Lucifer Over Athens": "After having been active for 27 years in the metal scene and after playing more than over 1,200 shows in every corner of this planet, we have finally decided to release our first official live album ever!

"We have worked hard to make this record as rich as possible by including many fan favorites while paying tribute to all phases of this band at the same time.

"We will take you back to our demo days and bring you right up to our contemporary creations.

"This is a live record with a soul.

"We invite you to a journey into the majestic world of ROTTING CHRIST!"

ROTTING CHRIST recently entered Devasoundz studios in Athens to begin recording its new album for an early 2016 release. The CD is once again being produced by Sakis Tolis.

ROTTING CHRIST's eleventh full-length studio album, "Kata Ton Demona Eaftou", was released in March 2013 via Season Of Mist. The band spent more than four months at Devasoundz crafting what it said was "its darkest and more mystical and occult outcome ever." The CD was mixed by Jens Borgen (AMON AMARTH, PARADISE LOST, KATATONIA, OPETH) at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden.


Sakis Tolis: vocals, guitar
Themis Tolis: drums
Vangelis Karzis: bass
George Emmanuel: guitar

Photo credit: Ester Segarra


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email