Denmark-based hard rock/progressive metal band ROYAL HUNT has signed a deal with Scarlet Records for the European release of its new album, "X".

ROYAL HUNT decided to revisit its roots and incorporate some of the musical values of the '70s into its songwriting as well as — in order to reinforce that particular atmosphere — employing mostly "retro" means of production (recording in analog format exclusively being one of them) for its tenth studio album. The music has been described as "an interesting mix of what's been tagged as classic rock nowadays (established by KANSAS, GENESIS, ELP's earlier works and DEEP PURPLE, URIAH HEEP's classics from the same era) and ROYAL HUNT's trademark composition/delivery."

Commented keyboardist/main composer André Andersen: "This album came out of our love for the '70s music (tagged as classic rock nowadays) — from KANSAS, GENESIS and ELP to URIAH HEEP and DEEP PURPLE — music which was/is very adventurous while just a tad naïve at the same time (as some might say). We all are notoriously resistant to categorize it in any way, form or shape, but (if hard-pressed) would go as far as saying that it's definitely much more hard rock than metal and if by 'progressive,' you might mean some odd time signatures here and there as well as random key changes — sure, there're tons of them here… as well as really basic, simple stuff — so go figure."

"X" track listing:

01. Episode X (Arrival)
02. End of the Line
03. King for a Day
04. The Well
05. Army of Slaves
06. Shadowman
07. Back to Square One
08. Blood Red Stars
09. The Last Leaf
10. Falling Down
11. Episode X (Departure)

"X" will be released in Europe in June 2010. The CD came out in Japan and Southeast Asia on January 21 via Marquee/Avalon Records.

ROYAL HUNT last year parted ways with bassist Per Schelander and replaced him with Andreas Passmark (NARNIA, ROB ROCK, E-TYPE).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).