RUNNING WILD Releases New Single 'Diamonds & Pearls'

August 13, 2021

Veteran German metallers RUNNING WILD will release their new album, "Blood On Blood", on October 29 via Steamhammer/SPV. The official lyric video for the LP's first single, "Diamonds & Pearls", can be seen below and will be followed by the second single, "The Shellback", on September 24.

RUNNING WILD leader Rolf "Rock N' Rolf" Kasparek states about "Blood On Blood": "We all know the difficulties the cultural sector was faced with during the lockdown. On the other hand, it also gave me and many other artists some extra time since most releases had to be postponed. I used that time to fine-tune every little detail of my new material. The result is an album that, in my opinion, is probably the best in RUNNING WILD's career to date. Every one of the ten songs sounds exactly as I had it in mind when I composed it. I've never been happier with a RUNNING WILD record before."

Rolf describes "Blood On Blood" as the most diverse offering he has released so far, not only in terms of the compositions but also as far as the production is concerned. "Every song has its own unmistakable sound," he says. "Although I recorded the rhythm guitar parts with my 1976 Gibson Explorer as usual, the other parts were cut with a Gibson Flying V, a Fender Stratocaster and even — the undistorted parts — with a Fender American Standard Telecaster." A prime example being "One Night, One Day", which owes its great depth to its clean guitar performance. Rolf is referring to a song that is guaranteed to cause a stir with its anthemic direction and unusual arrangements. "For me, this track was a little experiment that I've never dared to try before, because 'One Night, One Day' doesn't have the typical intro-verse-chorus structure, instead gradually building up throughout the song," he says.

The grooving "The Iron Times (1618 - 1648)", a worthy album finale, is just as remarkable, with its eleven minutes of playing time the longest track on the disc, and thanks to its lyric about the Thirty Years' War also one of the most ambitious numbers. Speaking of lyrics, "Wings Of Fire" and "Say Your Prayers" are about prophecies, albeit not — as on many other releases — the prophecies of Nostradamus, but, among others, the prophecies of John of Jerusalem, the French Knight Templar and co-founder of the Order of the Knights Templar, who predicted organ trafficking back in the Middle Ages. Historically no less interesting, "Crossing The Blades" sees RUNNING WILD broach the story of the three musketeers from the 17th century, their emblem having been recreated on the cover artwork, once again designed by Jens Reinhold (VIRGIN STEELE, FREEDOM CALL, among others). Rolf says: "It's a kind of hybrid between the cross of the musketeers and our mascot, Adrian."

Despite these lyrical ambitions, "Blood On Blood" also features two "party rock numbers," as Rolf likes to refer to them: "Wild & Free" and "Wild, Wild Nights", which are meant to be pure fun, fulfilling their mission to a tee. And last but not least, there's "The Shellback", a track in typical RUNNING WILD style that starts with a Celtic-inspired intro, RUNNING WILD revisiting the atmospheric seafaring theme of its 1994 classic "Black Hand In", a prequel of that maritime story. Equally characteristic of the band, which, in addition to Rolf, guitarist Peter Jordan and bassist Ole Hempelmann, has since 2019 included drummer Michael Wolpers, who contributed all the drum parts on the new disc, are the lead single "Diamonds & Pearls" (including lyric video) and the title track, incidentally the first number Rolf wrote for the new album.

"Blood On Blood" track listing:

01. Blood On Blood (4:07)
02. Wings Of Fire (3:57)
03. Say Your Prayers (5:14)
04. Diamonds & Pearls (4:44)
05. Wild & Free (5:28)
06. Crossing The Blades 6:00)
07. One Night, One Day (4:59)
08. The Shellback (6:11)
09. Wild, Wild Nights (4:30)
10. The Iron Times (1618 – 1648) (10:29)


Rock N' Rolf - guitar, vocals
Peter Jordan - guitar
Ole Hempelmann - bass
Michael Wolpers - drums

Find more on Running wild
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).