RUSH: 'The Spirit Of Radio' Clip From Forthcoming 'Snakes & Arrows Live' DVD Available

October 3, 2008

A RUSH performance clip of the song "The Spirit of Radio", taken from the band's forthcoming "Snakes & Arrows Live" DVD, aired on Monday, September 29 on VH1 Classic as part of a special dubbed "Rush Hashanah" in celebration of the Jewish holiday Rosh Hashanah. It has now been uploaded to YouTube and can be viewed below. Also available is the "Far Cry" clip from the same DVD.

Zoë Vision/Anthem Entertainment will release the "Snakes & Arrows Live" DVD from RUSH on November 25. This three-disc DVD set, also available as a Blu-ray Disc, follows the band's Zoë Vision DVD releases "R30" (2005) and "Rush in Rio" (2003).

The "Snakes & Arrows Live" DVD (full track listing below) was filmed with 21 high-definition cameras in 16x9 widescreen format over two nights in October 2007 at the Netherlands' Ahoy Rotterdam arena during the renowned rock trio's lengthy world tour. Additional SD footage was filmed in Atlanta this past July. The five-month trek supporting RUSH's critically acclaimed 2007 studio release "Snakes & Arrows", which includes the Grammy Award-nominated track "Malignant Narcissism", topped Pollstar's Top 100 2007 Tours list at #12.

While previous DVD releases showcase different sides of the band, this DVD offers fans a rare and close up look at the prodigious musicianship for which the band is renowned. Cameras follow bassist and vocalist Geddy Lee, guitarist Alex Lifeson and drummer Neil Peart closely, capturing not only their playing note for note, but also the intimacy they share on stage. The diverse track list includes many new songs from "Snakes & Arrows" as well as old favorites like "Tom Sawyer" and "Freewill" plus an explosive rendition of "Between the Wheels". Among the hidden gems and numerous special tour moments included as extras is the fan-coveted "What's That Smell" vignette and outakes, a skit used to intro the second set, which capitalizes on the still emerging comedic talents of both Alex and Geddy who excel (and revel) in their roles as wild characters. Featuring collector's quality packaging and a choice of Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound or PCM Stereo for a superior audio experience, the DVD was mixed by frequent collaborator Richard Chycki (AEROSMITH, MICK JAGGER). Total running time is 221 minutes.

"Snakes & Arrows" made a triumphant debut on the Billboard 200 upon its release May 2007, entering the chart in the #3 spot. The album's popular success marked RUSH's highest chart debut since 1993, as well as the group's eleventh top ten album in the U.S. "Snakes & Arrows" also debuted at #3 in the band's native Canada and at #13 in the UK — the band's highest British chart ranking in 16 years. In addition, the album premiered in the top ten in Sweden and Finland, and in the top twenty in Norway, the Netherlands, and Japan.

"Snakes & Arrows Live" DVD track listing:

Disc 1:

01. Limelight
02. Digital Man
03. Entre Nous
04. Mission
05. Freewill
06. The Main Monkey Business
07. The Larger Bowl
08. Secret Touch
09. Circumstances
10. Between the Wheels
11. Dreamline


01. What's That Smell (DVD Content)
02. 2007 Tour Outtakes
03. What's That Smell Outtakes
04. Far Cry (Alternate cut featuring rear screen footage)
05. The Way the Wind Blows (Alternate cut featuring rear screen footage)
06. Red Sector A from the R30 Tour

Disc 2:

01. Far Cry
02. Workin' Them Angels
03. Armor and Sword
04. Spindrift
05. The Way the Wind Blows
06. Subdivisions
07. Natural Science
08. Witch Hunt
09. Malignant Narcissism - De Slagwerker
10. Hope
11. Distant Early Warning
12. The Spirit of Radio
13. Tom Sawyer
14. One Little Victory
15. A Passage to Bangkok
16. YYZ

Disc 3:

Oh, Atlanta - The Authorized Bootlegs

01. Ghost of a Chance
02. Red Barchetta
03. The Trees
04. 2112/The Temples of Syrinx

A spokesperson for RUSH has denied Internet reports that the band is leaving Atlantic Records for the independent Canadian company Rounder. In fact, "RUSH are still contracted to Atlantic for one more album," the spokeperson told Classic Rock magazine. Rounder — whose roster includes GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS, ALISON KRAUSS, THE TRAGICALLY HIP and BRUCE COCKBURN — "will be issuing the trio's upcoming 'Snakes & Arrows Live' DVD, but that's as far as the arrangement goes."

RUSH has been with Atlantic Records since 1989's "Presto" and has released a total of seven studio and four live albums for the label.

RUSH's most recent concert leg wrapped July 24 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The group has been out behind its 18th studio album, "Snakes & Arrows", which marked RUSH's first set of all-new material since 2002's "Vapor Trails".

RUSH's songs "Closer to the Heart" and "Working Man" were recently made available for the Rock Band video game.

RUSH will receive a star on Hollywood's Walk of Fame next year.

"The Spirit of Radio":

"Far Cry":

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email