SABATON Announces Live Double-DVD + Blu-Ray 'The Great Show' And 'The 20th Anniversary Show'

November 8, 2021

Swedish metallers SABATON have announced a limited-edition, live-in-concert, double-DVD/Blu-ray, "The Great Show" and "The 20th Anniversary Show", both set for release on November 19 (Nuclear Blast). Both titles were filmed during the band's 2019-2020 "The Great Tour" world trek, and both feature special guest performers.

"The 20th Anniversary Show" is comprised of SABATON's jaw-dropping, two-hour headline concert filmed in front of 75,000 fans at Germany's Wacken Open Air festival — coincidentally, celebrating its 30th anniversary — on August 1, 2019. "The Great Show", with a running time of about 90 minutes, was recorded at SABATON's sold-out performance at the O2 Arena in Prague on January 26, 2020. With two varied setlists chosen from the band's extensive catalog, "The Great Show" and the "20th Anniversary Show", limited to 9000 copies each, will be available as individual purchases or bundled together as "The Great Show Stage Collector's Edition" box set (limited to 5000 copies),that includes a building bricks version of the SABATON stage so fans can build their own stages.

For the greater part of the Wacken concert, SABATON commandeered the festival's two main stages, the side-by-side-and-connected Faster and Harder Stages, becoming the first artist in Wacken's 30-year history to utilize both stages simultaneously in this way. Vocalist Joakim Brodén, guitarists Chris Rörland and Tommy Johansson, drummer Hannes Van Dahl, and the 20-voice Great War Choir, fitted out in a variety of military uniforms, performed on the Faster Stage. At the same time on the Harder Stage, bassist Pär Sundström welcomed back previous SABATON members Thobbe Englund and Rikard Sundén (guitars),Daniel Mÿhr (keyboards) and Daniel Mulback (drums) — all nine musicians, plus the choir, giving an intense and impassioned en masse performance. SABATON was also joined by the internationally acclaimed Grammy-nominated virtuoso cellist Tina Guo for the encore. Prague's "The Great Show" reunited SABATON with Finland's cello rockers APOCALYPTICA, who provided a fiery orchestral backing to several of SABATON's songs.

In support of SABATON's most recent album "The Great War", "The Great Tour" saw the band setting the bar sky high for live rock 'n' roll stage production. Both sets of discs effectively capture the visually electrifying in-concert experience that is a SABATON show. SABATON's cinematic songs transport fans onto the battlefield, encountering the horrors of war as well as acts of heroism and bravery, based on historical fact and told as if through the eyes and minds of soldiers in the line of fire. For "The Great Tour", and as seen on both of these DVD/Blu-ray sets, SABATON's live stage production was forged as a battlefield, with barbed-wire stretched across the front of the stage, stacks of sandbag barricades, mic stands fashioned after the period's rifles and trench guns, a two-ton military tank complete with a battery of rocket launchers and flame jets that doubles as a drum riser, a keyboard built into the body of The Red Baron's iconic blood-red tri-plane, and Brodén armed with a giant bazooka.

Track listing for "The 20th Anniversary Show" (Wacken)

01. Ghost Division
02. Winged Hussars
03. Resist And Bite
04. Fields Of Verdun (with Thobbe Englund)
05. Shiroyama (with Thobbe Englund)
06. The Red Baron
07. The Price Of A Mile
08. Bismarck
09. The Lion From The North
10. Carolus Rex
11. 40:1
12. The Last Stand
13. The Lost Battalion
14. Drum Battle (Hannes Van Dahl vs. Daniel Mullback)
15. Far From The Flame
16. Panzerkampf
17. Night Witches
18. The Art of War
19. 82nd All The Way
20. Great War
21. Attero Dominatus


22. Primo Victoria
23. Swedish Pagans (with Tina Guo)
24. To Hell And Back (with Tina Guo)

Track listing for "The Great Show" (Prague)

01. Ghost Division
02. Great War
03. The Attack Of The Dead Men
04. Seven Pillars of Wisdom
05. The Los Battalion
06. The Red Baron
07. The Last Stand
08. Far from the Flame
09. Night Witches
10. Angels Calling (with APOCALYPTICA)
11. The Price Of A Mile (with APOCALYPTICA)
12. The Lion From The North (with APOCALYPTICA)
13. Carolus Rex (with APOCALYPTICA)


14. Primo Victoria
15. Bismarck
16. Swedish Pagans
17. To Hell And Back

Find more on Sabaton
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).