SACRIFICE: Manitoba Metalfest Setlist Revealed

March 31, 2008

Canadian thrashers SACRIFICE performed this past Saturday (March 29) for the first time since their reunion show in 2006. The band's original lineup of Rob Urbinati (guitar, vocals),Joe Rico (guitar),Gus Pynn (drums) and Scott Watts (bass) headlined the second night of the Manitoba Metalfest 2008 at the Zoo in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Commented Urbinati: "Finally back home from the Manitoba Metalfest. Thanks to everyone who attended and helped us out during our stay. I don't think we have seen stage diving on that scale since about 1989! We had a little bit of equipment malfunctions, but adrenaline carried us through that... We came to thrash, and obviously Winnipeg did too. With the amount of broken glass on the floor afterwards, it was amazing that no one ended up in emergency!"

The group's setlist was as follows:

01. Forward To Termination
02. Terror Strikes
03. In Defiance
04. Turn In Your Grave
05. The Entity
06. Hiroshima (new song)
07. Cyanide
08. Necromomicon
09. As The World Burns
10. Burned At The Stake
11. Flames Of Armageddon
12. Pyrokinesis
13. Afterlife
14. Sacrifice
15. Soldiers Of Misfortune
16. Reanimation

SACRIFICE is currently working on material for a new studio album, which is not expected before late 2008 at the earliest. Musically, the new songs are "a continuation of SACRIFICE," according to Urbinati. "Don't worry, it doesnt sound like a style of new is us. If anything, I, myself am looking at 'Forward To Termination' as the moodsetter. Listening to a lot of stuff that influenced us then...old METALLICA, SLAYER, MERCYFUL FATE, TROUBLE, EXODUS, D.R.I., DISCHARGE, RUSH, Di'Anno MAIDEN. One thing I think we are all on board with, is that the drums will be real. None of this sampled sound with all the mistakes fixed... it will sound human. I am totally sick of that production style. It's time to bring a human sound with feeling back." He added, "Our writing credo right now is 'no fucking compromise.' No fucking around. Yes, there will be some melody like all SACRIFICE, but make no mistake, this will be a fucking punishing thrash album." Other songtitles set to appear on the CD include "The Great Wall", "Give Me Justice" and "Absolute Power Corrupts".

For the first time in 15 years, SACRIFICE reunited in September 2006 to headline the Day Of The Equinox II festival in Toronto, Ontario at the Opera House. The band's original lineup performed tracks from their classic metal releases: "Torment In Fire" (1986),"Forward To Termination" (1987) and "Soldiers of Misfortune" (1990). Watch fan-filmed video footage from the concert below.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email