SAHG: New Song Posted Online

August 17, 2010

"Mortify", a brand new song from SAHG — the Norwegian heavy rockers who feature in their ranks current/former members of GORGOROTH, MANNGARD and AUDREY HORNE — is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page. The track comes off the group's third album, "Sahg III", which will be released on August 30 through Indie Recordings.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. In Through The Eye
02. Baptism Of Fire
03. Mortify
04. Hollow Mountain
05. Mother's Revenge
06. Downward Spiral
07. Shadow Monument
08. Burden
09. Denier
10. Spiritual Void

Check out the cover artwork below.

An Indie Recordings press release states: "Not many heavy metal bands can boast of chart positions and two-page bulletins in all the national newspapers for a debut album. SAHG can. With their gloomy chords, ten-ton rhythms and a taste for the heavy rock pioneers of the Seventies, the Bergen-based quartet had the audience and critics toss their hats in the air with excitement. 'Sahg I' (2006) filled a void in the Norwegian metal fauna, and was an indisputable success in Norway, as well as abroad. The album got 10 out of 10 points in German Rock Hard magazine, and 8 out of 10 in the U.K. edition of Metal Hammer. The success debut album brought the band on tour Stateside, as opening act for extreme metal pioneers CELTIC FROST, and made SAHG 'the one to watch' at a string of metal festivals.

"Two years later, SAHG confirmed their status as Norway's undisputable doom lords. Many considered 'Sahg II' as a more refined album than the debut, and featuring spearhead tracks like 'Ascent to Decadence' and 'Pyromancer', the album became another door-opener for the quartet. In the wake of the second album release, the band toured Europe as support act to legendary headliners TROUBLE, played arenas across India, and performed at prestigious festivals like Wacken Open Air, Inferno, and Metalcamp."

SAHG previously stated about its new material, "There are a lot more of the fast songs, but on the other hand, the groovy ones are heavier than ever."

The band last year announced the addition of drummer Thomas Lönnheim to the group's ranks.

SAHG is:

Olav Iversen - Vocals/Guitar
King - Bass
Thomas Tofthagen - Guitar
Thomas Lönnheim - Drums

SAHG's sophomore album, "Sahg II", was released on March 18, 2008 via Regain Records.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email