SANCTUARY's JOSEPH MICHAEL On Upcoming Album: 'We Have Stumbled Upon Something Quite Unique'

August 6, 2019

Right after an appearance at this year's Headbangers Open Air in Germany, which marked SANCTUARY's European live debut with new vocalist Joseph Michael, the band entered a studio in Germany between select live dates to work on songs for its new album, tentatively titled "Transmutation".

SANCTUARY's fourth LP will be released in the second half of 2020 and will include such songs as "We Are The Fallen", "Not Of The Living" and "Blind". The songs are neither a throwback nor a stark departure from the classic SANCTUARY sound.

Michael comments:" Lenny [Rutledge, guitar] and I have taken our time getting to know each other as songwriters before really digging in and starting to write the record.

"[Late SANCTUARY singer] Warrel [Dane] and Lenny were such a magic combination and though there is no way to get that back, we have stumbled upon something quite unique yet still will be familiar to die-hard fans. What we are striving for is to meld our musical palettes in a way that gives fans something new without messing with the DNA that makes the band stand out among its peers."

SANCTUARY's current lineup is completed by Dave Budbill on drums, George Hernandez on bass and Joey Concepcion on guitar.

The band toured the U.S. in July, performing SANCTUARY's entire 1988 album "Refuge Denied".

Dane died in December 2017 while recording his posthumously released solo studio album "Shadow Work".

Find more on Sanctuary
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).