SARKE To Be Joined By Former CELTIC FROST Frontman For WACKEN OPEN AIR Performance

July 3, 2009

SARKE, the Norwegian band featuring Sarke (KHOLD, TULUS, OLD MAN'S CHILD, SENSA ANIMA) and Nocturno Culto (DARKTHRONE),will be joined by Tom Gabriel Fischer (CELTIC FROST, HELLHAMMER) on stage at this year's Wacken Open Air festival in Wacken, Germany for a performance of the CELTIC FROST classic "Dethroned Emperor".

Commented SARKE in a statement: "We are all massive fans of Tom and his music, and we are honored to share the stage with him at Wacken!"

Added Fischer: "It's an honor and a privilege to be invited to appear onstage with SARKE, a group whose lineup doesn't only contain personal friends but also musicians I respect deeply. We shall make our appearance at Wacken a truly special event!"

SARKE's lineup is completed by Asgeir Mickelson (SPIRAL ARCHITECT, THORNBOUND, BORKNAGAR),Cyrus (SUSPERIA) and Anders Hunstad (EL CACO, AUTOPULVER, MORTEN ABEL).

SARKE's debut album, "Vorunah", was released in April via Indie Recordings.

An e-card for the CD featuring audio samples of the entire album can be found at this location.

SARKE might sound like a new name, and in fact it is, but this grim story has more pages than one first might think.

Formed in 2008 by its namesake Sarke, who has spread his angry art through KHOLD, TULUS, OLD MAN'S CHILD and SENSA ANIMA, SARKE is a mesmerizing journey through dark and soothing soundscapes, inspired by legends like MAYHEM, SLAYER, DARKTHRONE, CELTIC FROST, BLACK SABBATH, CANDLEMASS, DEATH, MOTÖRHEAD and KREATOR.

For this musical quest, Sarke wanted to create music that has inspired him since he got into the extreme metal scene, and thus Nocturno Culto from the mighty DARKTHRONE was brought on board, making the core of the project complete.

All music and lyrics are written by Sarke, but adding Nocturno's legendary voice to these songs, has without a doubt added another dimension to the grimness.

"Vorunah" was recorded in November, and even though the album was recorded in old-fashioned '70s style to get the true vibe of the music,

"Vorunah" was produced by Sarke with Lars-Erik Westby. It features the following track listing:

01. Primitive Killing
02. Vorunah
03. The Drunken Priest
04. Frost Junkie
05. Old
06. Cult Ritual
07. 13 Candles
08. Dead Universe

For more information, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).