SATURNUS Seeking New Label Home

March 21, 2011

Denmark's melodic doom metal masters SATURNUS have parted ways with Firebox Records and are currently seeking a new label home.

The band's current lineup still includes Thomas A.G. Nielsen (vocals),Brian Hansen (guitar) and Rune Stiassny (lead guitar). A new drummer and rhythm guitarist were recently added in the shape of Henrik Glass and Mattias Svensson, respectively.

Commented Nielsen: "SATURNUS has been through a major transition due to a necessary lineup change arising from different views on how things needed to be run. This put the brakes on the bands progression for so long that eventually something had to break or otherwise we would inevitably have split up.

"We love playing live whenever we can and right now we want to do it more than ever to follow on and raise our profile once again to echo the success of our last album, 'Veronika Decides to Die', and previous efforts.

"The new lineup is just perfect. All the things I have been looking for in musicians has been delivered perfectly; the creativity, the lust for playing live, the understanding of the universe of SATURNUS and the way to compose is just perfect. I could not wish for better.

"Leaving Firebox Records was necessary for SATURNUS and even with one contractual album left to be fulfilled, both parties amicably decided to annul the contract we had and go our separate ways.

"So now the future lies open for SATURNUS. We need a record label to fully get the ship back out to sea again, and believe me, we are hungry like never before."

SATURNUS completed a four-song demo between October 2010 and February 2011 containing the tracks "The Litany Of Rain", "A Father's Providence", "Wind Torn" and "Between" (working title). The recording was mixed and mastered by Flemming Rasmussen, who has previously worked with METALLICA, MORBID ANGEL and BLIND GUARDIAN, among others.

A performance clip of a new SATURNUS song, "Wind Torn", recorded in 2009 in Madrid, Spain, can be viewed below.

SATURNUS's latest album, "Veronika Decides To Die", was released in 2006. The CD was produced by Flemming Rasmussen and featured a guest appearance by MERCYFUL FATE guitar legend Michael Denner. The album was nominated in four categories ("Best Metal Album", "Best Metal Track", "Best Metal Production" and "Best Metal Artwork") at the 2006 Danish Metal Awards event.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).