SATYRICON: Norwegian 'The Age Of Nero' Listening Parties Announced

October 1, 2008

Norwegian black metallers SATYRICON have issued the following update:

"Given the good times in Stockholm and Milan, we've decided to do a few more listening parties [for the new SATYRICON album, 'The Age Of Nero'] and what better place than Norway! The night will be an exclusive pre-listening of the entire new album 'The Age Of Nero', maybe some giveaway's, we'll play some other records too and so will some friends of us...all in all, a good time with SATYRICON and friends and your local rock bar!"

The details are as follows (free entry for all):

Oct. 16 - Bergen - Garage from 20-22.00
Oct. 17 - Trondheim - Storås at 20.00
Oct. 18 - Hamar - Sebs at 21.00
Oct. 23 - Oslo - John Dee at 20.00
Oct. 24 - Tromsø Blå Rock from at 21-23.00

"The Age Of Nero" will be released on November 3 via Roadrunner Records. The track listing for the album is as follows:

01. Commando
02. The Wolfpack
03. Black Crow On A Tombstone
04. Die By My Hand
05. My Skin Is Cold (album version)
06. The Sign Of The Trident
07. Last Man Standing
08. Den Siste

SATYRICON has posted photos from the recording sessions for the group's new CD. Check out the pictures at

Behind-the-scenes video footage of the drum-recording sessions for the group's new album shot in May 2008 at the Sound City studios in Van Nuys, California. Watch the clip at this location.

When asked about the involvement of producer Joe Barresi (TOOL, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE) in SATYRICON's new CD, Satyr recently told Norway's VG newspaper, "Joe has been a technician on practically the whole project. There might have been some misunderstandings in the Norwegian media about his role — it is me who is the producer; Joe's role is to know which buttons to push to create the sound that I want."

Speaking about the first time he played the new album for Roadrunner, Satyr said, "I had nothing to say to them. I just played the album loud, and thought that if they they don't like it, it's their problem. I am so sure about what we have done this time that I don't think about changing a single thing. The door is closed, and we are so much on the right path, that we are not turning eother left or right on this. But they thought it was really good."

A European headlining tour will kick off on November 12 in Stavanger, Norway and ending in Hamburg, Germany on December 20. Opening all shows will be up-and-coming UK thrashers EVILE.

SATYRICON will support CRADLE OF FILTH on a North American tour in January/February.

As previously reported, SATYRICON has recruited two new members for its live shows. The rhythm guitar is now handled by French axeman Gildas Le Pape, who has been playing black and thrash metal, as well as jazz, for quite a few years. The band's new touring bassist is Victor Brandt (Sweden) from the death metal band DOMINION and TOTALT JÄVLA MÖRKER. Victor Brandt can also be heard on the new SATYRICON EP "My Skin Is Cold".

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email