SAUL Collaborates With DISTURBED's DAVID DRAIMAN On New Song 'King Of Misery'

August 28, 2020

Iowa-based rock quartet SAUL will release its debut album, "Rise As Equals", on October 23 via Spinefarm Records.

The band has shared the new song "King Of Misery", which was co-written by DISTURBED's David Draiman. Check it out below.

"'King Of Misery' is a track that we hope all people can relate to at some point in their lives," explains singer Blake Bedsaul. "It's about being aware that your life is spiraling out of control and warning everyone around you that if they stay, you'll only drag them down with you. We are the rulers of our own domain but there are certain life lessons that you can only learn in the struggle. At that point, we all become the 'King Of Misery.'"

Guitarist Zach Bedsaul offered further insight, saying: "It was a very unique experience being able to write a song with someone as influential as David Draiman. His humble and down-to-earth nature made it such a comfortable experience. It wasn't ideal having writing sessions over Zoom. But we definitely made it work. We knew we wanted to write a song that once you heard it, it would give you an emotional concussion."

He finishes: "'King Of Misery' is a blast into reality that most people don't want to face and spend years running from."

Draiman himself weighed in on working with SAUL on the track, stating: "These guys were a pleasure to work with, as they are talented, dedicated, diligent, and already armed with an arsenal of hooks. I was honored to be able to contribute."

Blake also highlights the turbocharged lyrical current that runs through the album. "'Rise As Equals' is the full embodiment of all the trials and tribulations we face as a band, fathers, sons, brothers, and humans," he explains. "We write about everything from our biggest fears in songs like 'Looking To Fight' and 'Don't Close Your Eyes', while the title track is an ode to the wonderful men and women that make up our amazing fan base known as 'The Equals.'"

"Rise As Equals" track listing:

01. Trial By Fire
02. Looking To Fight
03. Brother
04. King Of Misery
05. Get It Right
06. Rise As Equals
07. Inside
08. Don't Close Your Eyes
09. Levee
10. Here And Now
11. The Toll
12. Things Change
13. Sticks And Stones
14. Welcome To The Machine

Find more on Disturbed
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).