SAXON Live Recordings To Be Released As 'The Vinyl Hoard' Deluxe Box Set

August 16, 2016

Britain's favorite heavy metal warriors SAXON will have four of their most explosive live recordings pressed on vinyl for the first time and released by Demon Records in a must-have deluxe box set. "The Vinyl Hoard" will be officially unleashed on the rock landscape on October 28.

The albums come as four double LP sets on 180-gram gold vinyl, each in a specially designed gatefold sleeve and presented in a slipcase box showcasing a beautiful brand new cover painting by SAXON artist-in-residence Paul Gregory. An exclusive limited edition of 500 copies will be available via Amazon, with a framable print of the cover painting signed by frontman Biff Byford.

Byford says: "This is not going to be around again and with exclusive art work too… Bring it on — I think we'll play some of these tracks on tour in the autumn."

Each renamed after the tour during which the featured shows took place, the recordings were previously released as "The Eagle Has Landed" II and III CDs and "To Hell and Back Again".

The eight-vinyl album boxset will contain:

* "The Dogs Of War Tour, 1995": Recorded on tour in Germany
* "The Lionheart Tour, 2004": Recorded on tour in France, England and Germany
* "A Night Out With The Boys, 2005: The 25th Anniversary of the NWOBHM": Recorded on tour in Germany and Sweden
* "Rocksound Festival, 2006" [2 LP]: Recorded in Switzerland

SAXON embark on the U.K. leg of its "Battering Ram" world tour with nine dates featuring special guests FASTWAY and GIRLSCHOOL from October 28.



Find more on Saxon
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).