SAXON To Release 'St. George's Day Sacrifice - Live In Manchester' In March

February 21, 2014

British heavy metal legends SAXON will release "St. George's Day Sacrifice - Live In Manchester", a "hidden treasure" recorded live at The Ritz in Manchester, England during the band's "Sacrifice" world tour.

SAXON traditionally performs each year a show on St. George's Day. Honoring a fine tradition, the band is paying homage to England's patron, Saint George, whose traditionally accepted day of his death is April 23.

This 2CD set finds a blistering performance covering a collection of SAXON's finest work from 1979 up to 2013. A very special rendition of "Broken Heroes" goes straight to the heart and is dedicated to the British Armed Forces.

The release is not only available as a 2CD set, it will be sold digitally as well.

"St. George's Day Sacrifice - Live In Manchester" was mixed and mastered by Andy Sneap, and it was produced by SAXON singer Biff Byford.

Release dates:

Germany: March 14
UK: March 17
USA: April 22

"St. George's Day Sacrifice - Live In Manchester" track listing:

CD 1 (running time 61:05 minutes)

01. Sacrifice
02. Wheels Of Terror
03. Power And The Glory
04. Made In Belfast
05. Rock 'N' Roll Gypsy
06. And The Bands Played On
07. I've Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)
08. Night Of The Wolf
09. Conquistador
10. Broken Heroes
11. Guardians Of The Tomb

CD 2 (running time 59:08 minutes)

01. Never Surrender
02. Ride Like The Wind
03. Crusader
04. Stand Up And Fight
05. Dallas 1 PM
06. 747 (Strangers In The Night)
07. Wheels Of Steel
08. Strong Arm Of The Law
09. Denim And Leather
10. Princess Of The Night

SAXON's new album, "Unplugged And Strung Up", sold around 500 copies in the United States in its first week of release.

Issued on on November 18, 2013, "Unplugged And Strung Up" reveals layers and pieces previously dormant in many of the 14 classic SAXON songs chosen for this makeover, thanks to some ear-catching new arrangements and mixes. Recorded, mixed and mastered with Andy Sneap in Derbyshire, U.K. last year, "Unplugged And Strung Up" contains re-evaluated, re-worked and re-energized versions of "The Eagle Has Landed" and "Crusader" by introducing orchestral dynamics to offer added dimension. "Frozen Rainbow", from the band's 1979 debut, gets a stunning acoustic reprisal which transports it into a power ballad to be proud of, while "Red Star Falling" soars and sweeps the emotions with its orchestrally arranged dovetail.


Find more on Saxon
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email