SCARS ON BROADWAY Members Touring Army Bases In Iraq

August 24, 2009

SCARS ON BROADWAY members John Dolmayan (drums, percussion; SYSTEM OF A DOWN),Franky Perez (guitar, vocals),Danny Shamoun (keyboards, percussion) and Dominic Cifarelli (bass) kicked off a tour of U.S. bases in Iraq last week.

Commented Perez: "Believe me... We all wish that our brother D [SCARS ON BROADWAY guitarist/vocalist Daron Malakian; also of SYSTEM OF DOWN] would come as well, but he has other commitments in the States. He has given us his blessing to go perform and supports the cause completely."

The group's setlist for the Iraq tour consists of the following songs:

* I'm Losing You (THE TEMPTATIONS)
* No Woman No Cry (BOB MARLEY)
* Lonely Day (SYSTEM OF A DOWN)
* Wish You Were Here (PINK FLOYD)
* Jealous Guy (JOHN LENNON)
* World Long Gone (SCARS ON BROADWAY)
* Cute Machines (SCARS ON BROADWAY)

Check out photos from the In The Army Now blog.

In October 2008, Malakian announced via SCARS ON BROADWAY's web site that the band's headlining tour — which included an appearance on "Jimmy Kimmel Live!" — was being cancelled, with no plans of rescheduling. Malakian cited his lack of enthusiasm and "his heart not being into touring" as the chief reasons behind the decision to call off the trek. "The music of SCARS will live on, but now is a time when aspects of my life need to be tended to," he said in a statement.

SCARS ON BROADWAY sold just under 24,000 copies of its self-titled debut album in the United States during its first week of release to debut at position No. 17 on The Billboard 200 chart. This number represented roughly 36 percent of the 66,000 opening tally registered by "Elect the Dead", the debut solo effort from SYSTEM OF A DOWN lead singer Serj Tankian, which came out in the fall of 2007 through the Warner Music Group.

"Scars On Broadway" has shifted just 78,000 copies in the United States since its July 29, 2008 release, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Photo below courtesy of In The Army Now blog

(Thanks: slasher)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).