SCOTT WEILAND Talks About SANTANA Collaboration (Video)

September 20, 2010

A short video clip of STONE TEMPLE PILOTS/ex-VELVET REVOLVER singer Scott Weiland talking about his contribution to Carlos Santana's "Guitar Heaven: The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time" album can be viewed at this location.

The longest-running, most successful partnership in the history of rock takes flight anew, as legendary Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees Carlos Santana and Clive Davis, Chief Creative Officer of Sony Music Entertainment, collaborate on the brand new concept album, "Guitar Heaven: The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time", arriving in stores September 21 on Arista Records. The album was co-produced by Carlos Santana and Clive Davis with tracks produced by Matt Serletic and Howard Benson.

Working from their collective encyclopedic knowledge of rock, Carlos Santana and Clive Davis devised a list of guitar-centric titles — and then invited a Who's Who of guest vocalists to perform on every track. Singers range from Chris Cornell (on LED ZEPPELIN's "Whole Lotta Love"),Pat Monahan (on VAN HALEN's "Dance The Night Away"),Chester Bennington and Ray Manzarek (on THE DOORS' "Riders On The Storm"),Rob Thomas (on CREAM's "Sunshine Of Your Love"),Scott Weiland (on THE ROLLING STONES' "Can't You Hear Me Knockin'"),Chris Daughtry (on DEF LEPPARD's "Photograph"),Gavin Rossdale (on T. REX's "Bang A Gong") to rapper Nas (on AC/DC's "Back In Black"),veteran Joe Cocker (on JIMI HENDRIX's "Little Wing") and more.

A very special dedication to George Harrison comes together on "Guitar Heaven…", with "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", featuring singer india.arie and master cellist Yo-Yo Ma. "Listening to the song," Olivia Harrison told Carlos, "it made me jump for joy and cry at the same time."

Along with these stars, Carlos offers "supreme validation and compliment" to his full-time band for their work on "Guitar Heaven…", their first entire full-length studio album recording together. Band members who join him on the album include Dennis Chambers (drums),Benny Rietveld (bass),Karl Perrazo (timbales),Tommy Anthony (rhythm guitar),Freddie Ravel (keyboards),Andy Vargas (background vocals),and Raul Rekow (Congas). Bill Ortiz (trumpet) and Jeff Cressman (trombone) also appear on the record.

"To create these songs," said Carlos, "it took an incredible amount of trust – from Matt Serletic, and from Howard Benson, and all these incredible singers, all these incredible musicians, they had to trust me, and I trusted Clive, so it's a chain reaction of love, because that's the highest form of love that there is on this planet: Trust."

"The cuts are special and the guest stars are special," said Clive Davis. "But what is unique and why this album stands for more than just the individual songs or titles, is that they were indeed chosen because they're guitar classics. And they celebrate the guitar because of the performance of Carlos Santana."

"Guitar Heaven…" is the first new studio album by Santana since their trilogy of consecutive blockbuster Arista releases: "Supernatural" (1999),"Shaman" (2002),and "All That I Am" (2005). All three albums were produced by Carlos Santana and Clive Davis. They represented a warm and well-received reunion with the executive who first signed Santana to Columbia Records (after seeing them at San Francisco's Fillmore West over Christmas week, 1968, at Bill Graham's request). Clive oversaw their formative years on the path to international superstardom starting in 1969, with the release of their debut album on August 18, the Monday after their historic Saturday performance at the Woodstock Music & Art Fair.

"Guitar Heaven: The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time" track listing:

01. "Whole Lotta Love" featuring Chris Cornell (LED ZEPPELIN)
02. "Can't You Hear Me Knockin'" featuring Scott Weiland (THE ROLLING STONES)
03. "Sunshine Of Your Love" featuring Rob Thomas (CREAM)
04. "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" featuring india.arie and Yo-Yo Ma (THE BEATLES)
05. "Photograph" featuring Chris Daughtry (DEF LEPPARD)
06. "Back In Black" featuring Nas (AC/DC)
07. "Riders On the Storm" featuring Chester Bennington and Ray Manzarek (THE DOORS)
08. "Smoke On the Water" featuring Jacoby Shaddix (DEEP PURPLE)
09. "Dance the Night Away" featuring Pat Monahan (VAN HALEN)
10. "Bang A Gong" featuring Gavin Rossdale (T. REX)
11. "Little Wing" featuring Joe Cocker (JIMI HENDRIX)
12. "I Ain't Superstitious" featuring Jonny Lang (HOWLIN' WOLF, JEFF BECK GROUP)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).