SCUM OF THE EARTH: 'Sleaze Freak' Artwork Revealed

May 17, 2007

SCUM OF THE EARTH, the band featuring former ROB ZOMBIE guitarist Riggs and ex-WHITE ZOMBIE drummer Ivan DePrume, has revealed the cover art for its upcoming "Sleaze Freak" album, to be released this summer by Eclipse Records. The cover image is one of seventeen original acrylic works done by renowned horror-caricature artist Paul Garner exclusively for SCUM OF THE EARTH's follow-up album to its 2004 debut "Blah...Blah...Blah...Love Songs for The New Millennium". Each of the different images illustrate the album's "red light district" concept, with the booklet featuring one image for each song, plus a few extras.

The new cover art can be viewed at this location.

When asked where the ideas for the art came from, Garner replied, "As I recall, Riggs and I started with a kind of freakshow idea which mutated into the sleazy Amsterdam red light district concept which worked out much better. With the booklet art we've created a mini 'sleaze freak' arcade... I love how the girls on display in the windows have turned out. They're a really cool 'n' trashy cast of characters. Riggs and Brandon make appearances as the creepy clients skulking around the arcade looking for action." Riggs chimed in, "For the cover art specifically, there were a lot of revisions we had to go through. I remember a few times where we'd come up with a version, then our label would run it by their distributor and come back to us saying it was too explicit, or the chick didn't have enough clothes on, whatever... stupid censorship crap but finally we got to a point where the label and distro were happy. You know, some stores don't want the right-wing religious folks organizing protests and all that shit."

The band is currently putting the finishing touches on the "Sleaze Freak" album at Studio 2100 in Springfield, MO.

"Sleaze Freak" tentative track listing (not in order):

01. Bombshell From Hell
02. Devilscum
03. Love Pig
04. Hate X 13
05. Macabro Expectaculo
06. I Am Monster
07. Sleaze Freak
08. Corpsegrinder
09. Deathstomp
10. Just Like Me
11. Scum-O-Rama
12. Devil Made Me Do It Again
13. 13 Freaks

SCUM OF THE EARTH's debut album, "Blah…Blah…Blah…Love Songs for the New Millennium", was released in 2005 via Eclipse Records. The CD features Riggs alongside an all-star cast of friends, including John Dolmayan (drums; SYSTEM OF A DOWN),and John Tempesta (drums; HELMET, WHITE ZOMBIE, ROB ZOMBIE, TESTAMENT, EXODUS) and his brother Mike Tempesta (guitar; ex-POWERMAN 5000). The Tempestas' appearance on the album marks the first time the brothers have played together on record.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email