SHAKRA: New Audio Interview With JOHN PRAKESH

January 31, 2013

On January 25, Brian Rademacher of RockEyez conducted an interview with singer John Prakesh of Swiss rockers SHAKRA. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

SHAKRA's new album, "Powerplay", entered the official chart in Switzerland at position No. 1. The CD also landed on the German Media Control chart at No. 81.

Released on January 11 via AFM Records, "Powerplay" is "the most varied SHAKRA album to date," according to a press release. "In addition to major ballads and earthy rock songs, it also includes more opulent tracks. It's the band's ninth album, and second with singer John Prakesh, but critics agree that this band has now really turned a corner, and if 'back on track' on the last record, they're now gunning the engine and steaming down the highway on this one."

Guitarists Thomas Muster and Thom Blunier continue with the driving material on tracks such as "The Mask", a storming rocker gripped beautifully by the honesty of the songwriting and the tightness of the production (again handled extremely efficiently by Blunier at his own Powerride Studios),but once again the music keeps on pulling you back to Prakesh and the feeling that this singer, who was a virtual unknown when he joined SHAKRA, has come through with shining colors yet again.

"Even though it is difficult to top being No. 2 in the charts, we believe that the new album really has got what it takes to do just that," the band explained recently on their web site; a mix of confidence and sober analysis definitely to the fore. "We are very satisfied with 'Powerplay'. Now it's really up to the public and the fans. We hope they like it as much as we do."

Even after 20 years of history, the original band members (Blunier [guitar], Muster [guitar], and Roger Tanner [drums]) still appear to be much of the driving force behind the material, but the young guns of Dominik Pfister (bass) and most particularly singer John Prakesh, are knitting together perfectly and this band now has just one overriding goal: to make good, honest, hand-made hard rock utterly irresistible.

"Powerplay" track listing:

01. Life Is Now
02. The Mask
03. Higher
04. Wonderful Life
05. Dear Enemy
06. Save You From Yourself
07. Don't Keep Me Hanging
08. Dream Of Mankind
09. Stevie
10. Because Of You
11. Secret Hideaway
12. Too Good To Be True

The "Wonderful Life" video can be seen below.

Vocals: John Prakesh
Guitar: Thom Blunier
Guitar: Thomas Muster
Bass: Dominik Pfister
Drums: Roger Tanner

Interview (audio):

"Wonderful Life" video:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).