Singer TIM 'RIPPER' OWENS Says He 'Knows Nothing' About New YNGWIE MALMSTEEN Album

November 24, 2010

Powerhouse American singer Tim "Ripper" Owens (YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, BEYOND FEAR, JUDAS PRIEST, ICED EARTH) says that he "knows nothing" about the new YNGWIE MALMSTEEN album, "Relentless", despite the fact that Owens' vocals are featured on most of the CD.

Speaking to Sweden Rock Magazine at his September 12, 2010 solo concert at Sticky Fingers in Gothenburg, Sweden, Owens said about the new Malmsteen album, "Every day people ask me if I'm gonna sing on [the new Yngwie CD], but your guess is as good as mine. It's quite possible [that my vocals will appear on it] because we recorded a bunch of songs last time around [during the sessions for 2008's 'Perpetual Flame'], but I would have to check my contract to see if they're allowed to be used on another record. I'm not really surprised that I haven't been asked to do it, even if [Yngwie and I] had a cup of coffee as late as a couple of months ago. We're both busy doing our own stuff, so I won't be hurt if he picks another singer."

When contacted earlier today (Wednesday, November 24) by BLABBERMOUTH.NET for clarification regarding his Sweden Rock comments, Owens said in an e-mail, "I know nothing about [the new Malmsteen album]!!! Sorry! Better ask Yngwie and his camp. I do have to say I enjoy working with Yngwie; he is a pleasure to be around.. But I have no comments on this CD because I know nothing about it!"

Audio samples of all the tracks that appear on "Relentless" are available for streaming on Released on November 22 via Malmsteen's own Rising Force Records, the CD contains more than 60 minutes of brand new material and showcases the guitar great at his best with the signature virtuosity and mind-blowing technical speed for which he has come to be known.

Of the new album, Malmsteen commented, "The album title really says it all. The drive to surpass my own accomplishments can best be described with one word — relentless. After all these years of composing and playing music, I still am passionate about pushing myself to the limit — to the highest, most demanding level of playing possible."

"Relentless" track listing:

01. Overture
02. Critical Mass
03. Shot Across The Bow
04. Look At You Now
05. Relentless
06. Enemy Within
07. Knight Of The Vasa Order
08. Caged Animal
09. Into Valhalla
10. Tide Of Desire
11. Adagio B Flat Minor Variation
12. Axe To Grind
13. Blinded
14. Cross To Bear
15. Arpeggios From Hell *

* Bonus track

Check out the cover artwork below.

For nearly three decades, Grammy-nominated Swedish guitar icon Yngwie Malmsteen has been amazing audiences with dazzling technical speed and ability. Malmsteen's signature style of playing, which combines elements of seemingly disparate styles of music — metal and classical, spawned the now commonplace genres of heavy metal known as "shred guitar" and "neo classical" and earned Malmsteen the title "the Paganini of heavy metal." Malmsteen was the first guitarist to have his own Fender signature guitar model (even before Eric Clapton). He has graced the cover of more than 200 magazines worldwide, has won every guitar award imaginable and to date, has sold millions of records. Time recently named Malmsteen one of the "Top Ten Greatest Electric Guitar Players," an honor he shared with the likes of Les Paul, Jimmy Page and Jimi Hendrix. "Guitar Hero" enthusiasts know they have arrived when they are bestowed with the Yngwie Malmsteen award in the Xbox 360 version of "Guitar Hero 2". The award signifies a 1000-plus-note streak in succession.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email