August 30, 2009

36 CRAZYFISTS bassist Brett "Buzzard" Makowski has joined San Francisco Bay Area metallers SKINLAB as their new second guitarist. Buzzard made his live debut as an official member of SKINLAB last night (Saturday, August 29) at the Uptown in Oakland, California.

Commented SKINLAB: "Buzz has been a longtime friend and was actually in SKINLAB during the first album's touring cycle and has always been a metal brother who we all knew would be jammin' with SKINLAB again. [He was also] originally set to replace Glenny [former SKINLAB guitarist Glen Telford] for the Brazilian tour that got snuffed!

"After trying out a couple of guitarists, we decided to fly Buzzard back down to do this show and start rehearsing for our upcoming tours. To say the least, Buzz cranked out the whole set as if he's been in the band for years, representing SKINLAB fully."

Sitting behind the kit for SKINLAB at the Oakland show was former 40 GRIT drummer Andy Green, who was filling in temporarily for Paul Hopkins (while Paul was away "with family obligations"). According to the band, "Andy came in with less than two weeks to learn our shit and absolutely crushed it... not only crushed it, but seemed to be a crowd favorite as we left the stage a few people stating chanting 'Andy, Andy.'"

SKINLAB will team up with MOWER and FLATLINE for a five-week U.S. trek, dubbed the "Sons Of A Sikworld Tour", in September/October. The exact cities and dates will be announced soon.

"The Scars Between Us", the new album from SKINLAB, will be released on September 15 via Stand And Deliver Records.

The track listing for the album is as follows:

01. Face of Aggression
02. Amphetamine Gods
03. Scream at the World
04. Wolvesblood
05. Karma Burns
06. In For The Kill
07. Paper Trails
08. Still Suffering
09. Bloodclot
10. My Vendetta
11. The Scars Between Us

The band's video for the song "In for the Kill" can be viewed below. The clip was filmed in May 2008 at the group's warehouse in Oakland, California with new, up-and-coming director Jourdan McClure and it features appearances by UFC fighter Nate Quarry and Greg Thompson.

SKINLAB released a live album, "SkinnedAlive!", in April 2008 via BCD Music Group. The CD was recorded on June 3, 2007 at The Metro in Oakland, California.

SKINLAB's last studio album, "ReVolting Room", came out in 2002. A double-disc set, entitled "Nerve Damage", featuring alternate versions of studio tracks, several live tracks recorded on the band's "ReVolting Room" tour, plus two new songs, came out in 2004.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email