SKUNK ANANSIE: More 'Wonderlustre' Details Revealed

August 16, 2010

Reunited '90s British rockers SKUNK ANANSIE will release their new studio album, "Wonderlustre", in the U.K. on September 13.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. God Loves Only You
02. My Ugly Boy
03. Over The Love
04. Talk Too Much
05. The Sweetest Thing
06. It Doesn't Matter
07. You're Too Expensive For Me
08. My Love Will Fall
09. You Saved Me
10. Feeling The Itch
11. You Can't Always Do What You Like
12. I Will Stay But You Should Leave

The "My Ugly Boy" single preceded the full-length effort in the U.K. on August 16.

Highlights are opener "God Loves Only You", which sets the precedent for a luscious tuneful weight but at the same time is made delicate by Skin's noticeably more breath-y and deeper vocal stylings; then we are thrown straight into the infectiously acidic guitar riff at the start of lead single "My Ugly Boy", which is truly one of the most lyrically perfect songs ever written as you hear Skin confidently blast "my ugly boy/my sweetest toy" across the airwaves and resonate throughout the track, like a buzzing neon sign or glowing lights of sped up traffic as it pulses through a room.

On a mellower note, "Talk Too Much and You Saved Me" are energetically down-tempo as they lull through their incredibly addictive melodies and are pleadingly held together again with beautifully melancholic chord progressions and Skin's smoky vocals kicking in to reveal two positively standout tracks.

Other favorites include mid-tempo pop rock confection "The Sweetest Thing", the dark and sensual "My Love Will Fall" and hook-healthy puncher "Feeling The Itch". But the most important thing to understand about this album as a whole is that it is a recorded representation of a band changing and yet somehow still retaining the relevance it once had, ultimately sweeping them into the world of contemporary rock of all kinds.

Says Skin of making "Wonderlustre", "We have a brand new vibe on this album, it came to us very naturally and for the first time ever all the beauty came out of jamming together, keeping the chemistry and circle of energy rock solid and understanding instinctively what works and what was utter tosh!"

SKUNK ANANSIE's greatest-hits album, "Smashes And Trashes", came out on November 2, 2009. A 15-track career-embracing effort, it featured classic moments from SKUNK ANANSIE's three LPs — "Paranoid & Sunburnt" (1995),"Stoosh" (1996) and "Post Orgasmic Chill" (1999) — and included three brand new tracks: "Because Of You", "Tear The Place Up" and "Squander".

SKUNK ANANSIE — vocalist Skin (Deborah Dyer),bassist Cass (Richard Lewis),guitarist Ace (Martin Kent) and drummer Mark Richardson — split up in 2001 but announced in September 2008 that they were writing new material together.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).